Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

  1. #1

    Default Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Hello
    I have been trying to add more sensors for hdd drives temperatures but i see only one and no place/options to add more.I know they all work,(i have 4 physical hdd) if i use the hhdtemp command (dev/sdXX) it show the temp for all of them (one at time).
    Any way to make gkrellm display all of them ?
    I,ve been googling around and searching on various forums but haven't found anything about that (other than how to make it work,or troubleshooting to make it work).
    I've tried conky ..but gives me more errors than info and i gave up.
    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,811
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Koba yashi
    Hello
    I have been trying to add more sensors for hdd drives temperatures but
    i see only one and no place/options to add more.I know they all work,(i
    have 4 physical hdd) if i use the hhdtemp command (dev/sdXX) it show the
    temp for all of them (one at time).
    Any way to make gkrellm display all of them ?
    I,ve been googling around and searching on various forums but haven't
    found anything about that (other than how to make it work,or
    troubleshooting to make it work).
    I've tried conky ..but gives me more errors than info and i gave up.
    Any help will be appreciated.
    Hi
    Have you configured hddtemp to monitor the additional drives? You need
    to edit /etc/sysconfig/hddtemp like so;
    Code:
    # Put at least the disk(s) you want to monitor here.
    # default is /dev/sda
    DEVICE="/dev/sd[a-c]"
    Ensure the hddtemp service is set to start;
    Code:
    chkconfig hddtemp
    hddtemp  on
    If it's off, use yast to start and enable the service or from the
    command line;
    Code:
    chkconfig hddtemp on
    rchddtemp start
    Then you should see something like this in the gkrellmn configuration;


    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.42-0.1-default
    up 8 days 12:41, 4 users, load average: 0.25, 0.32, 0.24
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  3. #3

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Thx a lot for your reply
    hddtemp is running and is set to start at boot,I have added the lines like this:
    Code:
    # program name
    HDDTEMP_NAME="hddtemp"
    
    # this file
    HDDTEMP_CFG="/etc/sysconfig/hddtemp"
    
    # hddtemp database of supported devices
    HDDTEMP_DB="/etc/hddtemp.db"
    
    # hddtemp port
    HDDTEMP_PORT="7634"
    
    # Put at least the disk(s) you want to monitor here.
    # default is /dev/sda
    DEVICE="/dev/sda"
    DEVICE="/dev/sdb"
    DEVICE="/dev/sdc"
    DEVICE="/dev/sdd"
    
    # hddtemp command line options.
    HDDTEMP_ARGS="-d -f $HDDTEMP_DB -p $HDDTEMP_PORT $DEVICE"
    Stopped and restarted gkrellm but still no luck...
    hddtemp is running and if i do

    Code:
    hddtemp /dev/sdb
    /dev/sdb: ST3500320AS: 30C
    Code:
    hddtemp /dev/sdc
    /dev/sdc: WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1: 35C
    Code:
    hddtemp /dev/sdd
    /dev/sdd: Maxtor 6L250S0: 36C
    for that and the other disks it works ..so i wonder why gkrellm won't pick them up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,811
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Koba yashi
    Thx a lot for your reply
    hddtemp is running and is set to start at boot,I have added the lines
    Hi
    I would have done;
    Code:
    # Put at least the disk(s) you want to monitor here.
    # default is /dev/sda
    DEVICE="/dev/sd[a-d]"
    Quote Originally Posted by Koba yashi
    for that and the other disks it works ..so i wonder why gkrellm won't
    pick them up.
    Hi
    As root set the sticky bit and restart hddtemp and gkrellm
    Code:
    sudo chmod 4755 /usr/sbin/hddtemp
    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.42-0.1-default
    up 8 days 13:45, 4 users, load average: 0.42, 0.57, 0.63
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  5. #5

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Hi
    Yes! that worked (grouping them) thx a lot again
    I have lost one of them (another 1TB full @80% ) hd a couple of weeks ago (mechanical fault tho and was only 4 month's old) so now i want them in check.

    P.S. added reputation (since no site i browsed/searched had an answer)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,811
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Koba yashi
    Hi
    Yes! that worked (grouping them) thx a lot again
    I have lost one of them (another 1TB full @80% ) hd a couple of weeks
    ago (mechanical fault tho and was only 4 month's old) so now i want them
    in check.

    P.S. added reputation (since no site i browsed/searched had an
    answer)
    Hi
    Excellent and thanks for the rep It shows it in the man page
    under daemon mode, not sure why a search never found it.... oh well

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.42-0.1-default
    up 8 days 14:14, 4 users, load average: 0.42, 0.33, 0.57
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  7. #7

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Well...i didn't search for a method for hddtemp ...and maybe that's why (only gkrellm since i thought it was his "fault").
    And actually maybe I'm blind but i still can't find (if you were talking about gkrellm daemon).
    Nonetheless thx again

    BTW that last command was to give/set higher permission to hddtemp ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,811
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Koba yashi
    BTW that last command was to give/set higher permission to hddtemp ?
    Hi
    It enables hddtemp to run as your user (SUID) with access to the
    hardware (in your case /dev/sd[x])


    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.42-0.1-default
    up 8 days 14:42, 4 users, load average: 0.07, 0.09, 0.17
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  9. #9

    Default Re: Adding more HDD temps to gkrellm (more than one hd) ?

    Thank you malcolmlewis.

    You are really help me configure gkrellm charts
    on the my new PC.

    Have a nice day!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •