How to make sure I didnt get a virus?

Hi everyone. I know that running linux makes you safer from viruses, since viruses are mostly windows based, however IMHO there are still chances to get some kind of viruses or better said some malicious code in scripts/cookies via browsing. I’m no expert if this field and would therefore need some of your advice. So the thing that made me think, happened yesterday, when I, as a registred user on forum Allgemeines Forum got an email, from one, who obviously didn’t have good intentions. I did report the mail on the forum, here Forum abused?!you can check the thread with original mail I got. I did follow the link in the mail to check what is it about, and saw a script that fired up, pretending that it scans my computer for viruses and as a result showed that I have many viruses on my pc on various places. Quickly I saw it can’t be true, since the content on the page displayed was showing as if I had a Win xp system. And when I tried to click to close it, it offered me some exe file to install, at that point I closed the browser and didn’t download the file. However I am a bit in doubt if anything else downloaded automatically without my confirmation (a cookie, script,…), which executes with the help of the browser and is not OS dependent. So now I wonder how could I check I didn’t get anything malicious? The most threatening I find some potential “key logger” which would monitor my input on password protected areas I browse. Browsing around I found a nice site showing how to protect you browser better Securing Your Web Browser and I tend to follow some of the advices mentioned for firefox. I know that for safe browsing it is not just the browser responsible, but also the user using it. So any your advices from this field would be appreciated and by posting this, I would also like to point at some most tricky ways, that some f****** imbeciles try to use in order to steal private data, so watch out. Thanks, Arcull.