Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Kimpanel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Kimpanel

    Thinking of installing Kimpanel plasmoid for Japanese input as an alternative to Skim due to it's unstable / incompatibility with KDE4.

    Anybody have any experience with it? Which anthy backend works best? scim-anthy or ibus-anthy?

    Install instructions at all or does it drag in all its own dependencies?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taichung city,Taiwan
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Yes, You can use kimpanel.
    But the package from KDE:KDE4:Factoryesktop seems not working for me.
    You can try from my test repository (this is not an official package)
    Index of /repositories/home:/swyear:/ibus/openSUSE_11.2
    I only test on openSUSE 11.2, not sure if work for earlier version.

    for scim:
    1.install plasma-addons-scim and plasma-addons-kimpanel
    2.drag the kimpanel component to systray
    3.ln -s /usr/lib(64)/scim-1.0/kimpanel-scim ~/.kde4/Autostart
    4.re-login
    I can type Chinese:我可以輸入中文,I think it will be OK for Japanese.
    screenshot here:
    Picasa Web Albums - chen - ibus 1.2 for ...

    for ibus:
    1.install plasma-addons-ibus and plasma-addons-kimpanel (and sure you should install ibus and ibus-anthy)
    2.drag the kimpanel component to systray
    3.re-login
    4.if can't active input-method in firefox, run SuSEconfig as root to update gtk-immodule
    わだしわ
    screenshot here:
    Picasa Web Albums - chen - ibus 1.2 for ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Can the input bar free float or does it have to be docked in the tray?
    Can the input bar be turned on and off with a short-cut in the same way as Skim so it is only present when needed?

    Anthy is the Japanese input module? What module do you use for Chinese?
    I'm guessing to input Japanese I would need to install from Opensuse repo scim-anthy if using scim input.

    In one of your screen-shots it looks like you have anthy installed (pic with the golden crown)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    I take it that scim needs to be installed but not running?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taichung city,Taiwan
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    Can the input bar free float or does it have to be docked in the tray?
    Can the input bar be turned on and off with a short-cut in the same way as Skim so it is only present when needed?

    Anthy is the Japanese input module? What module do you use for Chinese?
    I'm guessing to input Japanese I would need to install from Opensuse repo scim-anthy if using scim input.

    In one of your screen-shots it looks like you have anthy installed (pic with the golden crown)
    Press the green arrow then input bar can float from the tray.
    Anthy IS Japanese input-module. I type Chinese using chewing module.
    The golden crown input module is ibus-anthy module. I install it just for testing...
    Install ibus for 11.2 refer to:
    How to run IBUS input method on openSUSE 11.2? - openSUSE Forums

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taichung city,Taiwan
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    I take it that scim needs to be installed but not running?
    If you have installed scim-anthy, re-login should be OK to use scim to input Japanese.
    But the scim systray has some bug(?) that can't show up. But Ctrl-space can active the input-method.
    Or
    killall scim-panel-gtk

    But if you use kimpanel, Nothing is important above

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Quote Originally Posted by swyear View Post
    If you have installed scim-anthy, re-login should be OK to use scim to input Japanese.
    But the scim systray has some bug(?) that can't show up. But Ctrl-space can active the input-method.
    Or
    killall scim-panel-gtk

    But if you use kimpanel, Nothing is important above
    sorry about the misunderstanding - I don't actually want to use scim - but does it need to be installed - or just scim-anthy?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taichung city,Taiwan
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    sorry about the misunderstanding - I don't actually want to use scim - but does it need to be installed - or just scim-anthy?
    scim is needed by scim-anthy
    and also you better install scim-bridge-* and other dependencies

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    hmmmmm . . . .
    I might need some hand holding with this.

    I have all the scim dependencies installed.

    I installed the two files from your repo.
    However, I can't work out how to invoke kimpanel.
    If I right click the desktop to add new widgets kimpanel is not listed.

    If I invoke kimpanel from the command line I get a grey panel about 1cm wide with absolutely nothing on it.

    Any ideas?
    Are you using KDE 4.3 or 4.4(from factory)?
    I am using 4.3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taichung city,Taiwan
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Kimpanel

    I'm now using KDE4.4
    Picasa Web Albums - chen - ibus 1.2 for ...
    But I've test it when KDE4.3.x
    黑眼珠2: kimpanel for ibus and scim

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •