Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Virtualbox Re-install Required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    242

    Default Virtualbox Re-install Required

    Hi

    I have an issue with VirtualBox on my openSUSE 11.2 64-bit system.

    I have Windows 7 installed as a guest, and it all works fine...until I reboot the PC. When I try to restart VB, I get the bouncing icon, then nothing. I need to uninstall / reinstall VB, then it works fine until the next reboot.

    I've tried on the VB site, but the problem seems unique (i.e. they haven't encountered it), so I am wondering whether it is a distro/kernel issue?

    I have VB working fine on another laptop without any issues.

    Has anyone experienced this issue, or have a solution?
    Alastair Scott

    openSUSE LEAP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    This sounds like a silly question, but how often do you reboot? If it's only rarely, there HAVE been several kernel updates in the past couple of months. Maybe it's just coincidence that you need to reboot, and an update has occurred in the interim!

    What version of VirtualBox are you running? What errors are you getting? What do the logs show? If you start a root terminal prompt and enter, "service vboxdrv restart" what does it show? What happens when you enter "service vboxdrv setup"?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default PS -

    One of the moderators has written a couple of good How-Tos for this. In case you haven't seen them:

    Virtual Box (Sun Version) Install HowTo - openSUSE Forums

    Using Virtual Box - Some Quick Tips - openSUSE Forums

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    Just a thought
    Rather hit the Launcher Icon, did you try from a terminal: VirtualBox
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    Quote Originally Posted by smpoole7 View Post
    This sounds like a silly question, but how often do you reboot? If it's only rarely, there HAVE been several kernel updates in the past couple of months. Maybe it's just coincidence that you need to reboot, and an update has occurred in the interim!

    What version of VirtualBox are you running? What errors are you getting? What do the logs show? If you start a root terminal prompt and enter, "service vboxdrv restart" what does it show? What happens when you enter "service vboxdrv setup"?
    I'm running the latest version of VirtualBox (not at home right now, so can't confirm the version number).

    I've since reverted to using openSUSE 11.1 - the network manager in 11.2 kept dropping the wireless internet connection at irregular intervals, requiring a reboot, exacerbating the VB problem. 11.1 on my office laptop works without issue (VB, network and so on), so I'll finish configuring 11.1 and see whether that helps.
    Alastair Scott

    openSUSE LEAP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    No it hasn't. 11.1 still requires a reinstall of VB after rebooting the PC. Leaving it on permanently isn't really feasible.

    I'll check the other info and post the results.
    Alastair Scott

    openSUSE LEAP

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    No luck. I get the normal kernel rebuild messages (deleting old.....done / recompiling.....done) without error, but still no start. Going in as root gives me a different profile, although it starts......

    Could it be my profile with the existing machine i.e. should I delete the profile and then add the disks.....I'll give that a go and report back.
    Alastair Scott

    openSUSE LEAP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Virtualbox Re-install Required

    Well, I've just installed the latest version of VirtualBox (3.1.4) and, instead of letting it find the existing configuration, I created a new machine and used the hard disc I had. I've just re-booted and it seems to be going well.

    Now all I need is to sort out the USB.....
    Alastair Scott

    openSUSE LEAP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •