Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: KDE repo overload

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    233

    Question KDE repo overload

    OK, I'm confused by the variety of KDE repos - I have 11.2 with KDE 4.3.4 (from KDE:/43) now, and would like 4.3.5 to fix the Dolphin crashes(and I'm not even thinking about 4.4/Factory yet). Looking in the STABLE:/Desktop, I see it has Amarok 2.1.1, which gave me problems that are fixed in 2.2.2.

    1) So do I do 'zypper dup' to STABLE, then go back to KDE:43 to get Amarok, or is there a way to get the latest from either repo?

    2) I noticed GNOME 2.28.2 appeared in Update - is there still a plan to do the same for KDE 4.3.x?

    Current repos:
    1 | KDE4.3.x | KDE4.3.x | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/43/openSUSE_11.2 |
    2 | KDE_Stable_1 | KDE Stable | No | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/STABLE:/Desktop/openSUSE_11.2 |
    3 | NVidia | NVidia | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.2 |
    4 | Non-OSS | Non-OSS | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.2/repo/non-oss |
    5 | OSS | OSS | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.2/repo/oss |
    6 | download.opensuse.org-Community | openSUSE BuildService - KDE:KDE4:Community | No | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.2 |
    7 | download.opensuse.org-games | openSUSE BuildService - Games | No | Yes | 100 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/games/openSUSE_11.2 |
    8 | download.videolan.org-SuSE | VideoLan Repository | No | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/videolan/vlc/SuSE/11.2/ |
    9 | ftp.skynet.be-suse | Packman Repository | No | Yes | 90 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/packman/suse/11.2 |
    10 | openSUSE 11.2-0 | openSUSE 11.2-0 | No | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:/// |
    11 | openSUSE:11.2:Update | openSUSE:11.2:Update | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.2 |
    12 | openSUSE_11.2_KDE_43 | openSUSE_11.2_KDE_43 | No | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.2_KDE_43 |

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE repo overload

    Use kde4 stable desktop

    use the switch on it
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing

    and use this carefully
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/Backports/openSUSE_11.2

    You must be strict and keep your install clean. I would install amarok and lock it.

    (FYI) at the time of posting imagebam seems to be down, just wait a bit for it
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: KDE repo overload

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Use kde4 stable desktop

    use the switch on it
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing

    and use this carefully
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/Backports/openSUSE_11.2

    You must be strict and keep your install clean. I would install amarok and lock it.

    (FYI) at the time of posting imagebam seems to be down, just wait a bit for it
    OK, great, another cook(Backports) thrown into the broth...

    BTW, anybody know the answer to my second question above???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sulzbach/Ts., Germany
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: KDE repo overload

    KDE:43 will stay at 4.3.4
    Update to KDE 4.3.5 from stable, you should be able to use amarok 2.2.2 from another repo though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,868
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: KDE repo overload

    Quote Originally Posted by GeoBaltz View Post
    OK, great, another cook(Backports) thrown into the broth...

    BTW, anybody know the answer to my second question above???

    AFAIK, no.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: KDE repo overload

    OK, great, another cook(Backports) thrown into the broth...
    I don't quite get how the Backports-repository should help you btw... it's a KDE3-repo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •