How to install Xampp in suse linux 11.2

Hi,
i am new to suse linux, please any one tell me how to use Xampp and also how to configure mail agent in it

The required steps are described on apache friends - xampp for linux

Ok different noob here- I downloaded xampp per the web site cited and file roller places it in the download files window (but where exactly is this link at?) I tried to locate it as a local user and as a root and cannot find the tar file to extract it?

I’m trying to stay away from using root anymore than necessary but when some of these non rpm files are downloded and installed it becomes somewhat of a challenge to use/locate them when installed as root. forgive my ignorance.
Perhaps you could give me a quick course in using visudo to setup sudouser?

Then you should stay away from Xampp in the first place.

wow, that’s real helpfull advice?? almost as if your one a those who like to start a lil flame eh?

Read the Xampp-Homepage and what they say about Xampp, especially where NOT to use it.

If that is not enough, Install it (instructions are on that page, easy to find) and try to start it as a non-root user.

If you really want to use a LAMP(P)-system, then install the packages provided by your distribution, everything there, so why install some 3rd-party stuff?

I use LAMP distribution provided by the openSUSE. If you want to run a webserver It is simple to use the builtin package set and configure it rather to install XAMP or anything. You can find here how simply you can configure LAMP in SUSE with few easy steps.
http://www.susegeek.com/internet-browser/install-configure-lamp-apachemysqlphp-in-opensuse-110/rotfl!

Please, you’re right, but ignore this. You will see there’s loads of people here that will provide help.

The install and configuration on openSUSE is super-easy:
Install the Web and LAMP Server pattern through the software installer. This will install all needed.
Configure the webserver through Yast-Network services-HTTP server.