Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: desktop effects cant be activated

  1. #1

    Default desktop effects cant be activated

    Hi, im using opensuse 11.2 with kde and im having problems to use desktop effects differents from those default ones. For exemple, I cant enable the desktop cube! i check the box and click apply.... but nothing changes, even restarting the system. Maybe my graphics card is not working well... how can i fix it or discover if this is actually the problem?
    thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    first tell us your graphics card and if you have installed the drivers for it, then we can go from there. Also from a console, post the output of glxinfo | grep direct

  3. #3

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    I know that is an Intel series... i dont know the number

    this is what happened in terminal:

    davi@linux-p657:~> glxinfo | grep direct
    direct rendering: Yes



    i didnt install any drivers, was hoping opensuse would do this to me

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,972
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Just activating the Cube is not enough. In Systemsettings - Desktop - Desktop-effects, please check whether compositing is enabled. I should say yes, since you say default effects work.

    Now, in the first screen you also see an option for desktop switching, set it to use the Cube animation....AHA, there it is.

    If the effect is activated you could also initiate the Cube with the shortcut Ctrl-F11. If that works, the AHA was in it's place.

    Please let us know if I understood well.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Knurpht, doing as you told me to do the cube is working ok! so, it means that the graphics card is configured? cause, for another exemple: the snow effect to desktop or the burning window effect...i select them, and nothing happens! what could cause this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Hello everyone,

    I have the same problem with my openSUSE 11.2 x86_64 version. I can't enable any desktop effects at all.

    Here's my PC hardware brief view:

    CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+

    M/B - Asus M2N4-SLI (nForce 500 chipset)

    VGA - nVidia GeForce 9600 GT 256 bit 1Gb

    When I'm checking my X11 configurations, it's said that I've installed 9600GT video adapter (this means that suse had already installed the driver right?) and it has also installed my LCD monitor dirver Samsung 740N, but one strange thing, nelow the checkbox "enable 3D acceleration" is disabled but checked.

    So, when I'm trying to change something in my desktop effect and apply it (for example just entire profile from default to advanced) I'm getting this error report:


    Application: Simple CCSM (simple-ccsm-kde), signal: Segmentation fault
    [KCrash Handler]
    #5 0x00007fc035060761 in QAction::setChecked(bool) () from /usr/lib64/libQtGui.so.4
    #6 0x000000000041252b in _start ()


    O.K. and one more thing, compositing is suspended and when I'm trying to resuming it, it does, but after I'm closing the configuration window and then run it again, there's still the same.

    Please help me to solve this problem, as it frustrates me, I've got an old IBM laptop, with integrated Intel graphics chipset and I've Ubuntu 9.10 installed on it, I've just change the desktop effects from performance mode to great visual mode and it works perfect. But I like SUSE, since I'm new in Linux, I'm trying to choose more acceptable Linux distribution for me and I think OpenSUSE is just perfect for me, but only I want that everything rocked on it, everythin that should worked by default, as i don't think that I have something special hardware configuration that needs much sophisticated installation.

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,972
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Quote Originally Posted by masksalesman View Post
    Knurpht, doing as you told me to do the cube is working ok! so, it means that the graphics card is configured? cause, for another exemple: the snow effect to desktop or the burning window effect...i select them, and nothing happens! what could cause this?
    Yep, the card is configured and working, otherwise no cube.

    In the effects list, there's options next to it. When enabled, they show the shortcuts and settings. To have snow over windows uncheck the according option.
    Merely activating is not enough, otherwise it would be snowing all the time. For an instant blizzard hit Meta-Ctrl-F12. If it does not show, minimize all windows, or check settings of the effect.

    Same story for other effects
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Quote Originally Posted by vojd View Post
    Hello everyone,

    Application: Simple CCSM (simple-ccsm-kde), signal: Segmentation fault
    [KCrash Handler]
    #5 0x00007fc035060761 in QAction::setChecked(bool) () from /usr/lib64/libQtGui.so.4
    #6 0x000000000041252b in _start ()

    Please help me to solve this problem, as it frustrates me, I've got an old IBM laptop, with integrated Intel graphics chipset and I've Ubuntu 9.10 installed on it, I've just change the desktop effects from performance mode to great visual mode and it works perfect. But I like SUSE, since I'm new in Linux, I'm trying to choose more acceptable Linux distribution for me and I think OpenSUSE is just perfect for me, but only I want that everything rocked on it, everythin that should worked by default, as i don't think that I have something special hardware configuration that needs much sophisticated installation.

    Thanks in advance.
    Hi,

    It seems you're trying to use compiz-fusion with KDE which is really highly unnecessary. Ubuntu uses GNOME so compiz fusion is reasonable there, but KDE has its own implementation of compiz that you can find by going to Configure Desktop (Personal Settings) then click on Desktop and Desktop Effects is the first category.

    If you really want to use compiz with KDE4 I would suggest following this how-to guide:

    Installing and Configuring Compiz - openSUSE Forums

    If you have any more questions after following that guide feel free to ask.

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Hi, thanks for reply and explanation, you're right, I'd already noticed that Linux has a bunch of applications that actually implements the same task, hence the novice users like me are making this mistake and installing much similar applications with different names.

    O.K. having comiz-fusion on my PC isn't my "idea fix", so if I do not need it on KDE desktop, I'll uninstall it, I'm just interested, in case I'll uninstall all the packages related to this compiz fusion, should everything work then? Is that why I have 3D acceleration checkbox disabled (but checked) in X11 configuration? and is that why my desktop composting suspends every time?

    Oh, and one more thing, can you please tell me the packages I should uninstall? Should I uninstall just the packages related to compiz-fusion or all the packages that is related to compiz? Are the compiz and compiz-fusion definitely different applications/libraries?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: desktop effects cant be activated

    Hello one more time.

    I've deleted (uninstalled from YaST) evey package related to compiz. O.K. now when I'm going to Configure Desktop --> Desktop Effects I see the same thing, my video composting is still temporarily disabled and when I'm trying to resume it, it's useless. But I've find out one thing, when i've changed composting type from OpenGL to XRender, then the composting turn on and even some of the effects start to work, but with really poor performance, as it where some of oldest video adapters like S3 trio or something like this and it gives the message that some of the effect couldn't be activated.

    So what should I do? As it seems for me, I have some problems with OpenGL library, am I right? And if I'm right then how could I solve this problem? As can anyone tell me which packages I need to be capable fully run any OpenGL applications without trouble?

    Thanks in advance.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •