Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49

    Default Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Some month ago I installed openSUSE 11.1.
    It worked not bad, but I wanted to get the newes release of Firefox. So I did an upgrade to 11.2
    This wasn't a good idea, because I got lots of problems. Yast2 refused to work with an error message: unknown option -s (or similar). The regular updates didn't work also.
    Then I decided to do a new installation. Now I'm having a new problem: Display settings (Anzeige-Einstellungen) reports: Monitor unknown (Monitor unbekannt).

    Possible resolution settings are: 800 x 600; 640 x 480; 400 x 300; 320 x 240;
    Possible refresh rates are: 60 Hz or 56 Hz @ 800 x 600

    I need 1024 x 768 @ 76 Hz. In the previous installation it worked well.

    YAST2 Hardware informations shows me in Monitor > Monitor > Resources > Resolution: High: 768; Vertical frequency: 76; Wide: 1024
    The VGA controller is also correct shown in Display > 3d Blaster Savage 4

    Gnome and KDE are GUIs. Did anybody know, where the information about Display resolutions an refresh rates is stored in the system, like fstab etc.? I'm still having a copy of my previous installation. I would like to copy the data, making the system running 1024 x 768 @ 76 Hz. Thank you for helping me!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    You wanted a new version of firefox so you upgraded your whole system? Did you try looking around, perhaps in the mozilla repository?

    Anyways, the display settings can be found in /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    There may be a way to salvage this but first we have to see your repository list. So could you please open a terminal and copy and paste the output of:

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    I'm not familiar with Linux, I came from Win 98SE and needed a safe system for web purposes, like banking. I don't know how to handle tar.gz, etc. So I upgradet the whole system only for a new browser release, and got a lot of new problems.
    Now I'm having Firefox 3.5.6, but there is a newer release: 3.6 It should work 25 percent faster!

    zypper lr -d output:

    1 | http-download.opensuse.org-95811dbb | Aktualisierungen fr openSUSE 11.2-0 | Ja | Ja | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.2 |
    2 | openSUSE 11.2-0 | openSUSE 11.2-0 | Ja | Nein | 99 | yast2 | cd:/// |
    3 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.2-Debug | Nein | Ja | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/distribution/11.2/repo/oss |
    4 | repo-non-oss | openSUSE-11.2-Non-Oss | Ja | Ja | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.2/repo/non-oss |
    5 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.2-Oss | Ja | Ja | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.2/repo/oss |
    6 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.2-Source | Nein | Ja | 99 | yast2 | Index of /source/distribution/11.2/repo/oss |

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    /etc/X11/xorg.conf - there was no such file in the directory! Only /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install. Something has been wrong with my new installation.
    Now I copied the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf from my backup drive, and now the display is working with 1024 x 768 @ 87 Hz!

    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2009-02-15T13:29:37+0100.
    #
    # Version: 8.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <sax@suse.de>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list <https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (8.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #

    It's from my previous installation, 11.1, one year ago!
    Thank you very much!

    How can I get an install the newest release from Firefox?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    369

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Hi. Just add the Mozilla repository. Adding repositories is explained here.
    If you can't find it in "Community repositories", here's the link for 11.2: Index of /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.2
    Then you can install Firefox with Yast. Should the software management be unwilling to upgrade to 3.6 just click the "Versions" tab and select 3.6.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,841
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Quote Originally Posted by QUOKA View Post
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf - there was no such file in the directory! Only /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install. Something has been wrong with my new installation.
    Now I copied the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf from my backup drive, and now the display is working with 1024 x 768 @ 87 Hz!
    Nothing wrong with "no xorg.conf". It's obsolete in 11.2; if it's there it's being used, otherwise autodetection and -configuration is used. Is the Savage (kernel) supported?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Nothing wrong with "no xorg.conf". It's obsolete in 11.2; if it's there it's being used, otherwise autodetection and -configuration is used.
    Yes and no. It depends on your hardware. In most cases, removing xorg.conf may provide a solution but you should not consider it as a rule. In other cases, adding an xorg.conf will solve the issue (dual screen, broken or unrecognized monitor, unrecognized input devices, etc). Normally using an older xorg.conf from a previous installation is a good help, provided you didn't change the monitor or graphic card. The input devices settings (mouse, keyboard) will be ignored - but that's usually not a problem.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Kde and Gnome both provide an applet to change the resolution when xrandr is running, which should normally be the case.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    "Is the Savage (kernel) supported?" - Sorry, what's that?

    openSUSE 1.3 an 11.1 worked well with the Savage 4.

    I wondered about the failsafe mode (without xorg.conf): The Display resolution was 1024 x 768, but in normal mode there was only 800 x 600 @ 60 Hz!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Where did Gnome and KDE store informations?

    Quote Originally Posted by supertimorplusfort View Post
    Hi. Just add the Mozilla repository. Adding repositories is explained here.
    If you can't find it in "Community repositories", here's the link for 11.2: Index of /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.2
    Then you can install Firefox with Yast. Should the software management be unwilling to upgrade to 3.6 just click the "Versions" tab and select 3.6.
    Thank you very much. Firefox 3.6 is now running.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •