Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: YAST not showing updates

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Question YAST not showing updates

    Hi,

    I've installed OpenSUSE 11.2 and I'm pretty happy with over all system, the only issue that I had is with Yast, so far. It gives me alert for security patches but no alert for Software update. When I did "zypper up" as superuser I saw that there are updates available for more that 14 applications but yast didn't show me.

    Please let me know if there is any setting for it or should I file it as a bug.

    Regards,
    Anant

  2. #2
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    this same question was asked and answered within the last week or so,
    see if you can't find that thread..

    the short version is: there is a difference between updates and
    upgrades (besides being spelled differently)

    the automatic YaST Online Updater will let you know when there is a
    security or bug patch update available..

    upgrading from one version to another is a different kettle of fish..

    there is no upgrade available notification that i know of...but, then
    you do know don't you that there are new versions of most every thing,
    every DAY...all you have to do is access the coders "nightly builds"
    and you have a constantly changing system...which will be broken about
    90% of the time...

    --
    palladium

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    Well I understand the difference between update and upgrade but I'm looking something similar to ubuntu notification. It gives software updates and upgrade both.

  4. #4
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    anantg wrote:
    > ubuntu ... gives software updates and upgrade both.
    >


    if such exists for openSUSE i'm not aware of it....with an eight month
    delivery cycle i'd think the way to have the best chance of keeping a
    stable and productive machine would be to update as often as possible
    and upgrade applications alone with the system..

    but, perhaps there a large enough pool of folks who think their system
    is too stable to support what you seek....you can log your desired
    feature and see if the votes of others will bring it to the point it
    gets coded, see: http://en.opensuse.org/Fate

    as an alternative you might need to revert to using Ubuntu and ask
    them to provide the openSUSE features that you miss there, if any..

    --
    palladium

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    palladium,

    You seems a bit arrogant, I don't know why, may be you love openSUSE so much that you cant hear the comparison. Frankly speaking its the community forum and we should help each other with the kind heart not with the arrogance.

    Let me tell you one thing, I use the linux on the work and I was on Ubuntu and I was happy with it but because of the KDE4 and the way openSUSE implemented it I started using openSUSE. I never say that openSUSE is bad or Ubuntu its just the matter of ease and comfort that you find with one OS. Now I love openSUSE (but dont hate Ubuntu) but I was just wondering why its not showing me the new versions available for various softwares like OpenOffice, When I do "zypper up" it upgrades and updates the system and asked this question.

    Code:
    as an alternative you might need to revert to using Ubuntu and ask them to provide the openSUSE features that you miss there, if any..
    I didn't like the way you answered my question. I didn't do anything wrong by asking this question and there is nothing silly in this question so I would suggest you that if you don't have any answer then its better to be quite, no need to show your arrogance. This behavior will simply spoil the image of openSUSE community forum.

    Regards,
    Anant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,063

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    Guys, c'mon, let's keep the discussion friendly. There's no need to start insulting each other and attacking each other.

    Let's get back to the issue being discussed rather than turning it into a discussion of who's replying appropriately and who's not - that's not particularly constructive or helpful. If you have issues with each other that you want to discuss, please take it to PM.

    Jim
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  7. #7
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    anantg wrote:
    > I didn't like the way you answered my question.


    and i don't like the way you received it...i think you are too
    sensitive....

    let me try again: as far as i know zypper cannot do what you
    want...you can ask it be added at openFATE...if the capability is not
    added fast enough for you you should use the software that meets you
    needs...(and i won't judge you for that, and neither should anyone)

    see, i've never used Ubuntu (well, i ran a Live CD over a year ago)
    and have NO opinion about it...if it works for you then use it....if
    here you miss features that you had in Ubuntu then saying so in this
    forum does absolutely nothing to get it added, so i told you how to
    get that done---if i thought it was a stupid idea or felt you had done
    something wrong i would *not* have taken my time to:

    -tell you zipper does not do what you want
    -tell you how to ask for it
    -tell you it is ok if you feel you have to go back to U

    so, just what is your problem? was it i didn't use any of these: :-)

    or what?

    never mind, don't answer...i won't spend another moment trying to help
    you.

    --
    palladium

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    Quote Originally Posted by palladium View Post
    anantg wrote:
    > I didn't like the way you answered my question.


    and i don't like the way you received it...i think you are too
    sensitive....

    let me try again: as far as i know zypper cannot do what you
    want...you can ask it be added at openFATE...if the capability is not
    added fast enough for you you should use the software that meets you
    needs...(and i won't judge you for that, and neither should anyone)

    see, i've never used Ubuntu (well, i ran a Live CD over a year ago)
    and have NO opinion about it...if it works for you then use it....if
    here you miss features that you had in Ubuntu then saying so in this
    forum does absolutely nothing to get it added, so i told you how to
    get that done---if i thought it was a stupid idea or felt you had done
    something wrong i would *not* have taken my time to:

    -tell you zipper does not do what you want
    -tell you how to ask for it
    -tell you it is ok if you feel you have to go back to U

    so, just what is your problem? was it i didn't use any of these: :-)

    or what?

    never mind, don't answer...i won't spend another moment trying to help
    you.

    --
    palladium
    I guess u won't be going in the draw this month then?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    swerdna, thanks for stepping in and giving your opinion.

    palladium, I dont have any personal issue with you and may be you were not being arrogant in your reply but sometime right word in wrong form of sentence create different meanings. Anyway I have nothing against you.

    Now come to the point, you said "zipper does not do what you want"

    I dont know what you meant by that, but Zypper (not zipper) does work, if you use the "Zypper up" as super user you'll get upgrade to the new version of the softwares (not the OS) if you have repositories enabled in yast. The only issue I have is, if Zypper knows what to upgrade then why not the Updater applet knows about it, it uses Zypper inside.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YAST not showing updates

    This might not be any use, but I can tell you I gave up using the updater applet years ago before it had anything to with zypper. I have never found it to be reliable enough, certainly not for my setup and going by the repo lists I see, that would be true for most people. I can only see that updater being any use if all you had was the default 3 repos; oss, non-oss, update.

    I use zypper in the terminal or more often: Software Management and manually update my repos.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •