Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch time

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Remove kde4 playground and backports

    then do an unconditional update in kde4 stable desktop
    Yast - Software Management -Update All_HowTo - openSUSE Forums

    ----------------------------------------

    On another matter. You should also remove VideoLan repo
    And do an unconditional update in Packman

    Logout and back in
    Ok. I have done what you suggested. I logged out and back in after doing both of the above suggestions.

    I launched digikam from console. This is the output. Where it ends is where it "hangs" for several minutes before launching.

    As a side note the flickering after quickly moving the mouse over the screen also still occurs.

    This is part 2 of the results BTW


    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "observatoryplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "observatoryplacemarks"
    No recent Default Placemark Cache File available for "observatoryplacemarks"
    No Default Placemark Source File for "observatoryplacemarks"
    adding container: "otherplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "otherplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/otherplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "otherplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "boundaryplacemarks" true
    starting parser for "boundaryplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/boundaryplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "boundaryplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    TextureColorizer: Time elapsed: 30 ms
    THEME CHANGED: *** "earth/srtm/srtm.dgml"
    Style reset requested.
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "cityplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    Starting to load Plugins.
    === MarbleDirs: ===
    Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/data"
    Plugin Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/plugins"

    Marble Data Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Data Path (Compile Time): "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"

    Marble Plugin Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Plugin Path (Compile Time): "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"

    System Path: "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"
    Plugin System Path: "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"
    ===================
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CompassFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CrosshairsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GeoRendererPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GraticulePlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/MapScaleFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/NavigationFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/OverviewMap.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Photo.so"
    network plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/QNamNetworkPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/StarsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Wikipedia.so"
    Time elapsed: 6 ms
    PhotoPlugin: Initialize
    Use workaround: 0
    Starting to load Plugins.
    === MarbleDirs: ===
    Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/data"
    Plugin Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/plugins"

    Marble Data Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Data Path (Compile Time): "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"

    Marble Plugin Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Plugin Path (Compile Time): "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"

    System Path: "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"
    Plugin System Path: "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"
    ===================
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CompassFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CrosshairsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GeoRendererPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GraticulePlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/MapScaleFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/NavigationFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/OverviewMap.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Photo.so"
    network plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/QNamNetworkPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/StarsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Wikipedia.so"
    Time elapsed: 6 ms
    Model: Time elapsed: 23 ms
    loadMapTheme "earth/srtm/srtm.dgml"
    DGML2 Name : "Atlas"
    adding container: "cityplacemarks" false
    adding container: "baseplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "cityplacemarks"
    starting parser for "baseplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/cityplacemarks.cache"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/baseplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "baseplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "elevplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "elevplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/elevplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "elevplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "observatoryplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "observatoryplacemarks"
    No recent Default Placemark Cache File available for "observatoryplacemarks"
    No Default Placemark Source File for "observatoryplacemarks"
    adding container: "otherplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "otherplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/otherplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "otherplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "boundaryplacemarks" true
    starting parser for "boundaryplacemarks"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/boundaryplacemarks.cache"
    THEME CHANGED: *** "earth/srtm/srtm.dgml"
    Style reset requested.
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "boundaryplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "cityplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    Containername: "baseplacemarks" to be finalized: false 6
    Containername: "elevplacemarks" to be finalized: false 5
    Containername: "otherplacemarks" to be finalized: false 3
    Containername: "boundaryplacemarks" to be finalized: false 2
    Containername: "cityplacemarks" to be finalized: true 1
    Style reset requested.
    Containername: "baseplacemarks" to be finalized: false 6
    Containername: "elevplacemarks" to be finalized: false 5
    Containername: "otherplacemarks" to be finalized: false 3
    Containername: "boundaryplacemarks" to be finalized: false 2
    Containername: "cityplacemarks" to be finalized: true 1
    Style reset requested.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Remove kde4 playground and backports

    then do an unconditional update in kde4 stable desktop
    Yast - Software Management -Update All_HowTo - openSUSE Forums

    ----------------------------------------

    On another matter. You should also remove VideoLan repo
    And do an unconditional update in Packman

    Logout and back in
    This is part 1 of the console output:

    dmc55@dmcLinux:~> digikam

    (<unknown>:6032): GStreamer-WARNING **: Failed to load plugin '/usr/lib64/gstreamer-0.10/libgstapp.so': /usr/lib64/libgstapp-0.10.so.0: undefined symbol: gst_buffer_list_get_type
    virtual bool Phonon::Gstreamer::AudioOutput::setOutputDevice(const Phonon::AudioOutputDevice&) "default"
    Starting to load Plugins.
    === MarbleDirs: ===
    Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/data"
    Plugin Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/plugins"

    Marble Data Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Data Path (Compile Time): "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"

    Marble Plugin Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Plugin Path (Compile Time): "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"

    System Path: "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"
    Plugin System Path: "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"
    ===================
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CompassFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CrosshairsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GeoRendererPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GraticulePlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/MapScaleFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/NavigationFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/OverviewMap.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Photo.so"
    network plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/QNamNetworkPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/StarsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Wikipedia.so"
    Time elapsed: 18 ms
    PhotoPlugin: Initialize
    Use workaround: 0
    Starting to load Plugins.
    === MarbleDirs: ===
    Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/data"
    Plugin Local Path: "/home/dmc55/.marble/plugins"

    Marble Data Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Data Path (Compile Time): "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"

    Marble Plugin Path (Run Time) : ""
    Marble Plugin Path (Compile Time): "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"

    System Path: "/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data"
    Plugin System Path: "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble"
    ===================
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CompassFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/CrosshairsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GeoRendererPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/GraticulePlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/MapScaleFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/NavigationFloatItem.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/OverviewMap.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Photo.so"
    network plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/QNamNetworkPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/StarsPlugin.so"
    render plugin found "/usr/lib64/kde4/plugins/marble/Wikipedia.so"
    Time elapsed: 9 ms
    Model: Time elapsed: 167 ms
    loadMapTheme "earth/srtm/srtm.dgml"
    DGML2 Name : "Atlas"
    adding container: "cityplacemarks" false
    adding container: "baseplacemarks" false
    starting parser for "cityplacemarks"
    starting parser for "baseplacemarks"
    adding container: "elevplacemarks" false
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/baseplacemarks.cache"
    starting parser for "elevplacemarks"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "baseplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/elevplacemarks.cache"
    "Loading Default Placemark Cache File:/usr/share/kde4/apps/marble/data/placemarks/cityplacemarks.cache"
    newGeoDataDocumentAdded "elevplacemarks"
    Loading ended true
    placemarksLoaded
    adding container: "observatoryplacemarks" false

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    Delete this folder if it contains anything more than a camera.xml file
    .kde4/share/apps/digikam

    Delete this file
    .kde4/share/config/digikamrc

    try again
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Delete this folder if it contains anything more than a camera.xml file
    .kde4/share/apps/digikam

    Delete this file
    .kde4/share/config/digikamrc

    try again
    Ok. Did the above with the same results.

    I tried keyBangingMonkey's suggestion and finally renamed my existing digikam db to save it and then restarted again. That seems to have corrected both the slow load and the flickering thumbnails. Thanks everyone for the help on this. Much appreciated.

    The unconditional update seems to have created an issue with two plasmoids I use that no longer work, get the message component cannot be found when I choose it. In Yast it shows they are installed. I uninstalled them and reinstalled them with the same result. The plasmoids are yasp and yaWp for hardware status and weather info. They worked fine prior to the update. This is just weird.
    Desktop - Custom Build | Intel i7-950 | Asus P6X58D Premium MB | openSUSE 13.2 X86_64 | 12GB Ram | NVidia GTX580 | KDE 4.14.8

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    It may be that they were being supplied by a different repository - one that I had you remove.
    Not sure that's the case.
    You would need to check if they did indeed supply those packages in addition to the repos that are currently supplying them.

    I don't recommend the Backports or Playground. I know they are there to be used, but you really need some experience to manage them. Generally the Community repo is enough to satisfy. You may well find you actually have a number of packages showing red in Software Management (these are roll backs) due to the removal of those repos. So it's up to you. You could add them back and see. But it's not my recommendation.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    It may be that they were being supplied by a different repository - one that I had you remove.
    Not sure that's the case.
    You would need to check if they did indeed supply those packages in addition to the repos that are currently supplying them.

    I don't recommend the Backports or Playground. I know they are there to be used, but you really need some experience to manage them. Generally the Community repo is enough to satisfy. You may well find you actually have a number of packages showing red in Software Management (these are roll backs) due to the removal of those repos. So it's up to you. You could add them back and see. But it's not my recommendation.
    I did check to see if either was supplied by one of those two and both are in the Community Repo only. The yasp one did come back to life after removing and reinstalling again, but yawp is still missing in action. Very strange, it's the best one there too for weather in my opinion.

    Thank you so much for your time, patience and help!
    Desktop - Custom Build | Intel i7-950 | Asus P6X58D Premium MB | openSUSE 13.2 X86_64 | 12GB Ram | NVidia GTX580 | KDE 4.14.8

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Digikam - Random Flicker of thumbnails and long launch t

    I don't use any plasmoids so I can't check. But I guess somewhere in .kde4 there must be a config file/folder (look to delete). Maybe someone else can help if they use plasmoids
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •