Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packagekit.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Unhappy DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packagekit.

    Weird error on 11.1 x86_64 - I get it when I try to do autoupdate from the tray updater. I tried searching the forums for this error but didn't find. I tried rpm --rebuilddb as su, but that didn't fix. I start YaST and chose Software / Online Update and get: Accessing the Package Management Failed - the system management is locked by the application with pid 29603 (/usr/lib/YaST2/bin/y2base).

    I tried killing the updater tray applet, but to no avail...

    TYAN2-Linux:/home/patti # ps -al
    F S UID PID PPID C PRI NI ADDR SZ WCHAN TTY TIME CMD
    0 S 1000 8100 8079 0 80 0 - 3401 rt_sig pts/1 00:00:00 csh
    4 S 0 17287 17267 0 80 0 - 12921 wait pts/3 TYAN2-Linux:/home/patti # ps -a
    PID TTY TIME CMD
    8100 pts/1 00:00:00 csh
    17287 pts/3 00:00:00 su
    17290 pts/3 00:00:00 bash
    17327 pts/5 00:00:00 kdesu_stub
    17429 pts/3 00:00:00 ps
    32445 pts/1 00:00:00 csh
    TYAN2-Linux:/home/patti # 00:00:00 su
    4 S 0 17290 17287 0 80 0 - 3503 wait pts/3 00:00:00 bash
    4 S 0 17327 17324 0 80 0 - 1008 wait pts/5 00:00:00 kdesu_stub
    4 R 0 17477 17290 99 80 0 - 1137 - pts/3 00:00:00 ps
    0 S 1000 32445 8100 0 80 0 - 3213 - pts/1 00:00:00 csh
    TYAN2-Linux:/home/patti #


    This is an 8-quad-core (32 total cores) tyan Opteron machine with 64 GB memory and has run flawlessly for the last year. Also, I'm using YaST/Proxy to reach the repos.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    From what you state it is not so weired. Apparently an application (maybe a former session of yast) has a problem. The script tells you that it cannot access the package kit because another application is not freeing the resource.
    pid 29603 should be this application.
    Try to do the following:
    open terminal (konsole) and type: top
    this will show you all running processes. Search for 29603. If you see it is yast but you didn't open it, try to kill it.
    You do this with kill numberofthread
    For commodity you can open a second tab to type the command. So top remains open and you can control that the process is gone.
    The update applet should now reach the package kit.

    Disregard, I read your post more sorrowful. With all evidence you do not need this advice. However this error is somehow familiar to me from the past. Maybe 2 years ago I had the same on a 64 bit machine. Will try to recall.
    Last edited by stakanov; 19-Jan-2010 at 14:23. Reason: posted without brain ;-)
    Just "clicking away" security warnings about a change in repo signature ? Not able to control?
    Then please vote for
    https://features.opensuse.org/312047
    openSUSE should have an efficient web of trust.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,845
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    Seems like there's an instance of Yast's sofrware manager already running. It's locking the communication with packagekit. So both the updater applet and the software installer are blocked by this running instance of y2base.

    If you're not sure, reboot the system and see of that helps, otherwise kill the mentioned y2base process 29603, check if it indeed is killed, and try again.

    Hey, Stakanov, I read this one first
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    @Kurpht Naaaaaaaa, first!
    But seriously, she seems to have a quite professional background. So I do not think it did not come to her mind. Anyway yast2base is to all extend a session of yast, not the updater.
    I recall this error from some years ago but this bl..... Alzheimer does not help at all.
    Just "clicking away" security warnings about a change in repo signature ? Not able to control?
    Then please vote for
    https://features.opensuse.org/312047
    openSUSE should have an efficient web of trust.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    At home right now - will try tomorrow...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    Revisit this a few days later (after a system reboot) and all works normally. I guess it was some YaST/rpm process run wild that was locking the database, but I didn't know how to figure out which process it was, and I didn't want to start killing things willy-nilly... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    Hey Patti. You do not need to kill things "willy-nilly" (love the expression). If it is a rpm/yast process it is like in Highlander the immortal: there can be only one. Yast2base processes for what I know cannot be running if not intentionally to set up things (that is hardware or to install software). If the top command will give you only one yast2base running...it is the right one.
    Cheers.
    Just "clicking away" security warnings about a change in repo signature ? Not able to control?
    Then please vote for
    https://features.opensuse.org/312047
    openSUSE should have an efficient web of trust.

  8. #8

    Default Re: DBus error : Unable to get transaction id from packageki

    I have had the same sequence of failure notices on two different installations, but since everything works just fine i don't bother trying to fix it. Maybe the next update is going to run smooth?

    Greetings from wonderful, smalltown Liederbach, Germany
    PS: Liederbach literally translates to "Songscreek"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •