Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    43.009 N, 73.172 W
    Posts
    189

    Default System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    I did a very stupid thing and I should know better. I was trying to update my hplip program and now KDE Plasma Workspace refuses to start.

    Opensuse 11.1, KDE 4.3.?

    I already tried deleting .kde4/ and .kde/ and still the same problem. I can log in to the console. The error message when starting KDE is "No System Tray detected on this system". The same thing happens if I try to log in as an alternate user on this system.

    Can I use zypper from the console to do something?

    Thanks for any help. I really need this to come back up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    43.009 N, 73.172 W
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    To follow up, I did "zypper up" from the console, this installed a whole bunch of packages to kde 4.3.90. Which I think is the latest version. I'm still having the same problem, KDE won't start. No System Tray Found.

    How can I force a fresh install of KDE?

    Anyone? Please. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    What if you login with kde3 (or don't you have it installed?)
    or icewm?

    kde4 does not require the sys tray to start the desktop.
    If you can start kde3 or icewm can you post result of

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    43.009 N, 73.172 W
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    Thanks for your reply.

    I am logged into KDE3 and that's working. KDE4 starts, but all I get is that system tray error message and then a black screen. My mouse cursor is visible on the black screen.

    Here's the repository listing you asked for.

    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh
    ---+-----------------------+-----------------------+---------+--------
    1 | KDE:Qt_1 | KDE:Qt | No | No
    2 | KDE_4_Community | KDE 4 Community | No | No
    3 | KDE_4_Core_Packages | KDE 4 Core Packages | Yes | Yes
    4 | Libdvdcss repository | Libdvdcss repository | No | No
    5 | Packman Repository | Packman Repository | Yes | Yes
    6 | devel:tools:building | devel:tools:building | No | No
    7 | google | google | No | No
    8 | google-chrome | google-chrome | No | No
    9 | kde-desktop | kde-desktop | No | No
    10 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | No | No
    11 | openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss | openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss | No | No
    12 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.1-Debug | No | No
    13 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.1-Oss | Yes | Yes
    14 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.1-Source | No | No
    15 | repo-update | openSUSE-11.1-Update | Yes | Yes

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    43.009 N, 73.172 W
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    You asked for -d here's the output..sorry.


    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service
    ---+-----------------------+-----------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | KDE:Qt_1 | KDE:Qt | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/Qt/openSUSE_11.1 |
    2 | KDE_4_Community | KDE 4 Community | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop |
    3 | KDE_4_Core_Packages | KDE 4 Core Packages | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop/openSUSE_11.1 |
    4 | Libdvdcss repository | Libdvdcss repository | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | http://suse.linuxin.dk/repo/11.1/ |
    5 | Packman Repository | Packman Repository | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/packman/suse/11.1 |
    6 | devel:tools:building | devel:tools:building | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/devel:/tools:/building/openSUSE_11.1 |
    7 | google | google | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | http://dl.google.com/linux/rpm/stable/i386 |
    8 | google-chrome | google-chrome | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | http://dl.google.com/linux/rpm/stable/i386 |
    9 | kde-desktop | kde-desktop | No | No | 10 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop/openSUSE_11.1 |
    10 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | No | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/sr0 |
    11 | openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss | openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss | No | No | 120 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.1/repo/non-oss |
    12 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.1-Debug | No | No | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    13 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.1-Oss | Yes | Yes | 120 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    14 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.1-Source | No | No | 100 | yast2 | Index of /source/distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    15 | repo-update | openSUSE-11.1-Update | Yes | Yes | 20 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.1 |

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    Please change the repo priority of Updates #15 to 99

    enable repo #11 non-oss

    do an unconditional update in repo #3 kde4 desktop
    carl4926 - Unconditional Update in Yast Software management

    see if this helps
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    43.009 N, 73.172 W
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    Thank you. All is well now. I followed your instructions and did the unconditional update and that fixed KDE4. Now I have to reset all my personal settings, but that is the lesser problem.

    Thanks again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: System Tray Not Found, can't start KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by udaman View Post
    Thank you. All is well now. I followed your instructions and did the unconditional update and that fixed KDE4. Now I have to reset all my personal settings, but that is the lesser problem.

    Thanks again.
    Excellent
    BTW: Your settings were lost as a result of your earlier removal of .kde4
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •