no sound

Stats: Dual Boot Vista and Opensuse 11.2 Gnome I think.
Speakers are working in Vista. Not working in OpenSuse.
Just got Nvidia installed.
NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290.
I see some stuff in YAST about sound but it doesn’t seem to address the problem. I’m new to OpenSuse so please bare with me.
Thanks for OpenSuse.

OK, good on ya for checking in Vista. That confirms that your wiring for your speakers are setup correctly.

In general, I recommend if you have a problem getting your sound card to work, please go here:
SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

If that that does not help you get your basic sound working (or if it is simply too complex given your relative newness to all of this), then please post in this sub-forum, providing in your post the following information:

/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh 

and select the SHARE/UPLOAD option when asked. After the script finishes it will give you a URL to pass to the support personnel. Please post here the output URL. Just the URL.

• in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -qa ‘alsa#and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -qa ‘pulse#and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -q libasound2 #and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: uname -a #and post output here
  • for openSUSE-11.2 or later, in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: cat /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf #and post output here

There is also guidance for new users here, in setting up their multimedia: Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide - openSUSE Forums

Note when testing if you have sound, please copy and paste the following speaker-test into a Gnome terminal or a kde konsole:

speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 -l5 -twav