Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How to reset KDE default destop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Warrington, England
    Posts
    111

    Default How to reset KDE default destop

    1. I have messed up KDE destop on SUSE 11.2. I have installed Gnome and XFce desktops. I can happily work in Xfce (best on my old machine) or Gnome.
    2. However...
    I want to re-set KDE to original with desktop folder and bottom bar. How to do it?
    3. KDE works ok, Full desktop files downloaded. it is just a messed up desktop no desktop folder no bottom bar. A widgit of a bar to log out and get menu has been set up to work in KDE.

    4. Thank you in advance for any help.
    Regards
    Eionmac
    openSUSE LEAP 15.1 , Windows 10 ; Various old computers dual boot and Live Linux distros

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,762

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Rename the ~/.kde4 folder.

    Go to a terminal (CTRL_ALT-F1)

    log in as root

    type
    init 3

    go top you home folder

    cd /home/younamehere

    do a ls -l to make sure you are in the right place then

    mv .kde4 .kde4.bak

    type reboot to restart the machine

    This should bring you back to the default desktop configuration.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Warrington, England
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Many thanks.
    I don't feel comfortable to do rename "/.kde" as I still have KDE desktop default in the failsafe log on.
    I assume rename is done as root log on and then a terminal or ?

    I have never gone to a state 3 log on, except by faults when it boots into 3 only at start up and I feel slightly not confident at the terminal screen.
    I have adjusted widgits in a bar to get back some operational input.

    Many thanks.
    I am still learning.
    Regards
    Eionmac
    openSUSE LEAP 15.1 , Windows 10 ; Various old computers dual boot and Live Linux distros

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,762

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    init 3 will simply stop the Xwindow system. You don't want it to be awake while doing brain surgery on it

    The command line is your friend.

  5. #5

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Thanks for this I followed the instructions and it works but what exactly did it do?

    Kind Regards

    Martin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Quote Originally Posted by S1yf0x View Post
    Thanks for this I followed the instructions and it works but what exactly did it do?

    Kind Regards

    Martin
    It just removed all the configurations of kde. When you start kde again, it thinks that that specific user is running it for the first time and rebuilds all the default configurations.
    Is this what you wanted to know?

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Quote Originally Posted by eionmac View Post
    I want to re-set KDE to original with desktop folder and bottom bar. How to do it?
    Just deleting/renaming ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc does the trick.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    Yep, really more simple.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,790
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    When I messed up my settings:

    I logged out;
    I used CTRL-DEL-F1 to get a direct terminal login;
    rm -rf .kde4
    logout ## from the terminal
    CTRL-DEL-F7 - reshowed the desktop login screen
    login, and kde treats me as a first-time kde user and reinitializes.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: How to reset KDE default destop

    On Sat, 20 Nov 2010 00:06:02 +0530, DaaX <DaaX@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org>
    wrote:

    >
    > Yep, really more simple.
    >


    not only more simple, much safer. renaming the whole of .kde4 you get rid
    of all your contacts, emails, and everything else you did or configured in
    KDE applications. sometimes that's what you want. but to re-set the
    desktop, deleting everything plasma* and activity* under
    ~/.kde4/share/config/ and ~/.kde4/share/apps/ is what you want. this
    removes all configurations you've made to plasma-desktop, so that the
    default is re-created you log in the next time. all other KDE data remains.


    --
    phani.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •