Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Greensboro, North Carolina
    Posts
    34

    Question How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    With the default boot set to runlevel 5 you have a login screen that provides a menu to choose which desktop to run (KDE, Gnome, etc).

    My machine is set to boot to runlevel 3. How can I switch the desktop from the command line before starting X?

    Fedora has a nice little utility called switchdesk, but can't find anything like it for openSUSE 11.2.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    The desktop type seems to be saved in a file called .dmrc in $HOME.

    There's a little discussion about it here, but it's Ubuntu-centric:

    How to change the default Xsession? - Ubuntu Forums

    Mine only contains:

    Code:
    [Desktop]
    Session=default
    so I have not tried switching to other desktops.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Greensboro, North Carolina
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    The desktop type seems to be saved in a file called .dmrc in $HOME.

    There's a little discussion about it here, but it's Ubuntu-centric:

    How to change the default Xsession? - Ubuntu Forums

    Mine only contains:

    Code:
    [Desktop]
    Session=default
    so I have not tried switching to other desktops.
    Ok so what file determines what the default desktop mgr is?

    Since I'm using openSUSE 11.2 I will shy away from the Ubuntu thread and hope someone could provide a Suse specific answer.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    Probably /etc/sysconfig/windowmanager. You're not meant to edit that unless you want to change it for everybody on the machine. $HOME/.dmrc is apparently the place for per user changes. Why not try putting kde4 instead of default in there and see what happens. You can always edit it back.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    $yast sysconfig

  6. #6

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxdave View Post
    My machine is set to boot to runlevel 3. How can I switch the desktop from the command line before starting X?
    Thanks
    If you use startx you can set the WINDOWMANAGER variable in your ~/.profile (actually it should be WINDOW_MANAGER, but openSUSE seems to evaluate WINDOWMANAGER instead. Have a look in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.common)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Greensboro, North Carolina
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    Quote Originally Posted by please_try_again View Post
    If you use startx you can set the WINDOWMANAGER variable in your ~/.profile (actually it should be WINDOW_MANAGER, but openSUSE seems to evaluate WINDOWMANAGER instead. Have a look in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.common)
    Strange, Gnome is not even in the list here but I know it's installed:
    Code:
    test -n "$WINDOWMANAGER" && WINDOWMANAGER="$(type -p $WINDOWMANAGER 2>/dev/null)"
    if test -z "$WINDOWMANAGER" ; then
        if test -x /usr/X11R6/bin/kde -o -x /usr/bin/kde; then
            WINDOWMANAGER=$(type -p kde)
        elif test -x /usr/X11R6/bin/startkde -o -x /usr/bin/startkde; then
            WINDOWMANAGER=$(type -p startkde)
        elif test -x /usr/X11R6/bin/fvwm2 -o -x /usr/bin/fvwm2; then
            WINDOWMANAGER=$(type -p fvwm2)
        elif test -x /usr/X11R6/bin/wmlist -o -x /usr/bin/wmlist ; then
            for i in $($(type -p wmlist)) ; do
                WINDOWMANAGER="$(type -p $i 2>/dev/null)"
                test -n "$WINDOWMANAGER" && break
            done
        fi
    fi
    Editing the .dmrc file had no effect.
    .profile had no entry for anything related to window mgr or desktop mgr.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Greensboro, North Carolina
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    So is this a bug perhaps? I double checked and Gnome is installed. I chose to install it when I installed the OS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    No idea. But maybe you could switch the desktop in level 5 and see which file gets changed. Surely the previous desktop must be recorded somewhere. Rather brute force way to find out but needs must.

  10. #10
    JosephKK NNTP User

    Default Re: How to change Desktop Mgr when machine set to runlevel 3

    On Fri, 22 Jan 2010 18:26:01 GMT, linuxdave <linuxdave@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    >So is this a bug perhaps? I double checked and Gnome is installed. I
    >chose to install it when I installed the OS.



    IIRC windowmanager describes the graphical login interface, not the
    after login desktop environment.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •