Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Input/Output Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mt Vernon Ohio
    Posts
    227

    Default Input/Output Error

    Hello, I was downloading the opensuse 11.2 Dvd and someone tripped over my external Hd cable causing it to unplug and my download to stop...Alright no biggie, when I go to resume I am stuck at the "Checking" Status. Alright just delete the file and start over again (don't know how else to resolve this) well still the same thing, ok, open Dolphin and delete the file everything seems to be in order except I find when I unplug the HD and plug it back in the file is still there! OK so I open a terminal and run rm -r openSUSE-11.2-DVD-x86_64-iso
    and get the following message.. "rm: cannot remove `openSUSE-11.2-DVD-x86_64-iso/openSUSE-11.2-DVD-x86_64.iso': Input/output error" any ideas on how to solve this? Thanks (also if this text is tiny I'm sorry my Computer is on the fritz and I have no idea whats causing it)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    1,770

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    The file system may be corrupted. What file system do you have on that? Can you do a fschk?
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) with Kernel 3.7.10-1.16-desktop and KDE 4.11.2 on MacBook Pro
    Latest MS Windows version used: Win95

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mt Vernon Ohio
    Posts
    227

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    I have NTFS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    1,770

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    OK, please hold on... Someone else might come up to help you... I am not an expert on NTFS.

    I read somewhere in the forum that sometimes you need Windoz to "reset" something when NTFS file system gets corrupted. Not sure what it is.

    If you don't use Windoz, you may initialize some "decent" file system on that drive.
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) with Kernel 3.7.10-1.16-desktop and KDE 4.11.2 on MacBook Pro
    Latest MS Windows version used: Win95

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,704

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    I doubt if you can repair NTFS from Linux and to be honest even if you could I'd not trust it. Too much secret sauce there.

    take the disk to a windows machine and correct it there. Or if you don't need to use the drive on Widows replace the partition and format ext4 much better.

  6. #6
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    threatingbehaviour wrote:
    > I have NTFS


    not sure, but i think i read that something about the way MS file
    systems work on USB requires a "clean shut down" or they refuse to
    work when reconnected..

    i suppose tripping over the cable does not constitute a "clean shutdown"..

    i have no idea how to fix it, but a "windows power user" should be
    able to tell you..

    --
    palladium

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,806
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Input/Output Error

    Connect it to a windu machine, have that repair it.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •