Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Playing m4a files in banshee

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    103

    Default Playing m4a files in banshee

    How come I am able to play m4a music files in :
    - Amarok
    - VLC Media Player
    - MPlayer (with some flashing error messages though)

    and not in :
    - Banshee (asks to search for a suitable codec, but that leads me nowhere)
    - Rhythmbox (same as Banshee)
    - Totem (error message : GStreamer encountered a general stream error)

    Shall I check the gstreamer libs that i have installed? How do I do that? Or shall I check something else?

    I would really like to make it work in banshee because it's the only music player that supports audio CDs correctly without crashing...

    Thanks,
    A total newbie .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Playing m4a files in banshee

    Doesn't KsCD work for your music cd's or Kaffeine?
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Playing m4a files in banshee

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Doesn't KsCD work for your music cd's or Kaffeine?
    I don't have them installed (I'm on gnome / 11.2), so I cannot answer that question. I already feel like I have way too many multimedia applications that (should) do more or less the same thing, this is why I am surprised that some handle audio cds more gracefully than others, and that some play m4a files when others do not.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Playing m4a files in banshee

    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Playing m4a files in banshee

    Followed the step-by-step multimedia tutorial and the problem is fixed . I had a whole bunch of packages from the Videolan repository instead of Packman, and some broken dependencies also . Mea culpa, I guess I should have tried that first. But there is much information available, it's a bit overwhelming for a newbie.

    Anyway, congratulations on providing a very well written step-by-step troubleshooting guide!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Playing m4a files in banshee

    Quote Originally Posted by oysterboy View Post
    Followed the step-by-step multimedia tutorial and the problem is fixed . I had a whole bunch of packages from the Videolan repository instead of Packman, and some broken dependencies also . Mea culpa, I guess I should have tried that first. But there is much information available, it's a bit overwhelming for a newbie.

    Anyway, congratulations on providing a very well written step-by-step troubleshooting guide!
    You are welcome
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •