Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Problem with firefox

  1. #1

    Default Problem with firefox

    I am having a problem with firefox that i can not figure out it was working fine yesterday now today the only page it will go to is the open suse main page I tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it but still the same. I had to install opera to get onto the forums anyone have any idea what i can do to fix this thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Try this, close FF
    Go to your home/user hidden files and look for .mozilla
    re-name it to .mozilla-old

    Start FF

    don't worry your settings etc are in the old folder

    Tell me if it's better
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    I have looked around and can not find a file named mozilla and I did check to show hidden files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    close FF
    open a terminal and paste this

    Code:
    mv .mozilla .mozilla-old
    that should do it
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wilds of Arkansas
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by thegreatpenguin View Post
    I am having a problem with firefox that i can not figure out it was working fine yesterday now today the only page it will go to is the open suse main page I tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it but still the same. I had to install opera to get onto the forums anyone have any idea what i can do to fix this thanks for your time.
    Check to see if you are in Work offline mode from the file menu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by MattBClassic View Post
    Check to see if you are in Work offline mode from the file menu.
    Good idea but surely that's like --obvious
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Ok i did check to make sure offline use was unchecked and it was also tried the command you posted in a terminal now the only thing it does is go to the firefox home page and will not go anywhere else this is so strange any other suggestions thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    But this in the address bar

    130.57.4.15

    what happens
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wilds of Arkansas
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Good idea but surely that's like --obvious
    Sometimes the obvious is easiest to overlook. To OP try to start Firefox in a terminal session and report any errors.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Problem with firefox

    Check FF - Preferences
    Advanced - Network - Settings
    Use system proxy settings
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •