Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Switching languages?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    just outside Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Default Switching languages?

    So I've installed a secondary language with YAST and that seemed to go ok, but I can't find the information in the documentation about how to switch between languages, say in an OpenOffice doc or in the browser?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,987
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Switching languages?

    Is this on KDE4 or Gnome?

    In KDE4 use 'systemsettings' to configure the language. The next program will start in the chosen language.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    just outside Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Switching languages?

    Sorry, using KDE.
    Will try your suggestion.
    Is there a hotkey combination to switch back and forth on the fly, like with Windoz?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    just outside Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Switching languages?

    Your suggestion changes KDE all right, but Open Office and Firefox are still in the Primary language, even after restarting the programs and also after rebooting the computer.

    Maybe what I really want to do is change the language on the keyboard so that I can type the special characters of the secondary language in documents and searches?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    just outside Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Switching languages?

    Got it!
    I am able to switch the keyboard between the two language layouts.
    The settings are in "Configure Desktop" > "Regional and Language" > "Keyboard Layout"
    Excellent!
    Thanks for your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: Switching languages?

    When you change 'language' you change the language in with messages, button/tab titles, etc are displayed. Due to the Open Source nature of Linux every (set of) programs more or less solve this on its own. That means that when you tell KDE youe want to see its text in a language, OO or FF do not know that. A central place is the LANG environment variable. A lot of programs honour that. You can set it the file .profile in your home directory (examples are in the file).

    When you change the keyboard layout, you change the way you input characters using the keyboard. You found out already how to do that.

    It is important to understand that the above are two different things.
    Henk van Velden

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •