Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 66

Thread: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    The boot info suggests the SUSE HD was / is (hd2,1) which is I'm sure sda2

    Follow the Parted Magic Guide to reinstall grub
    it find grub at (hd2,1)

    But the last part should install grub to (hd0)
    So like this:
    setup (hd0)

    Which should install grub to the first HD
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #12

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    I misunderstood when a device was mounted in Parted MAgic, here is the info:

    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sat Jun 19 21:25:32 EDT 2010
    # THIS FILE WILL BE PARTIALLY OVERWRITTEN by perl-Bootloader
    # Configure custom boot parameters for updated kernels in /etc/sysconfig/bootloader

    default 0
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd2,1)/boot/message

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title Desktop -- openSUSE 11.2 - 2.6.31.12-0.2
    root (hd2,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.12-0.2-desktop root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD3000HLFS-01G6U0_WD-WXD0C7949084-part2 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD3000HLFS-01G6U0_WD-WXD0C7949084-part1 splash=silent quiet showopts vga=0x31a
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.31.12-0.2-desktop

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE 11.2 - 2.6.31.12-0.2
    root (hd2,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.12-0.2-desktop root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD3000HLFS-01G6U0_WD-WXD0C7949084-part2 showopts apm=off noresume edd=off powersaved=off nohz=off highres=off processor.max_cstate=1 x11failsafe vga=0x31a
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.31.12-0.2-desktop

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 2###
    title windows 2
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    and BTW:
    (hd2) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD3000HLFS-01G6U0_WD-WXD0C7949084
    (hd1) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31500341AS_9VS32EM8
    (hd0) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAJB-00YRA0_WD-WCAS86352573

  3. #13

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    (hd2) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD3000HLFS-01G6U0_WD-WXD0C7949084
    (hd1) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31500341AS_9VS32EM8
    (hd0) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAJB-00YRA0_WD-WCAS86352573

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    The boot info suggests the SUSE HD was / is (hd2,1) which is I'm sure sda2

    Follow the Parted Magic Guide to reinstall grub
    it find grub at (hd2,1)

    But the last part should install grub to (hd0)
    So like this:
    setup (hd0)

    Which should install grub to the first HD
    That's fine. Same as before isn't it.
    Just try as above
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #15

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Actually I am not having any problems I am just trying to follow what is happening. I have a boot flag on hd0 and hd1 and bios set to boot from hd0 and grub is on hd2?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Quote Originally Posted by philsweeney View Post
    Actually I am not having any problems I am just trying to follow what is happening. I have a boot flag on hd0 and hd1 and bios set to boot from hd0 and grub is on hd2?
    I don't follow.
    If you are merely experimenting with multi-boot, go ahead.

    But my advice for what it's worth. Keep Linux on a separate HD, (which you have.) Install Win OS's first.
    Then set the HD you plan to install SUSE to as 1st in the BIOS and install SUSE, placing grub on that HD, either to the MBR or the extended partition if you have one.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    326

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Hi caf4926

    Great thread...was exactly what I was looking for !!!


    Cheers Otto
    Desktop: CPU: AMD Ryzan 4 core, RAM: 32 GB, SSD 120 GB OS, SSD 480 GB Raid, HD 500 GB , OS: 15.1
    Laptop: Toshiba, AMD 4 core, 8 GB RAM, SSD 500 GB, OS 15.1
    Printer: Brother Color laser , Scanner Epson V370. Main application: Ardour, Jack

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Quote Originally Posted by otto_oz View Post
    Hi caf4926

    Great thread...was exactly what I was looking for !!!


    Cheers Otto
    Excellent. Thank you
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York, USA
    Posts
    480

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Echoing earlier replies, this is an invaluable thread. Great work!

    For my clarity, the original post stated

    Step 1

    1. Get yourself Parted Magic Downloads - Burn it to a cd. (EDIT) (I'm adding a link to download a working version of Parted Magic as the current version is not) http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/pmagic-4.5.iso
    Is the download site version (5.6, as of 10.24.2010) a "non-working" version ? I ask prior to using Parted Magic to avoid any potential problem(s).
    Lap: Gateway NV79, i5-430, 4GB, 2 x 500GB HD, Intel GMA HD
    openSUSE Leap 15.0 x64 + 42.3 x64, KDE 5.15.3, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, Windows 7

    Test:: openSUSE 15.0, KDE Plasma, Windows/XP/SP3 guest.

  10. #20

    Default Re: Re-Install Grub Quickly with Parted Magic

    Yes new version doesn't work. Use the drop box version here.

    Regards,

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •