Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    I have installed codecs but i still can't write audio cd's out of my mp3's. When I start k3b it warns about missing MAD, but after searching for MAD I could only install libmad0 and there is no luck with that. In suse community site it says something about instaling from packman. But this only adds kde3-k3b and I dont want that. Is there anything I can do to use mp3 with my kde4-k3b?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    As I researched more I found that I should install kde4-k3b package from packman. But I have a problem. In my country Iran skynet.be is not accessible because some stupid government filteration. I use some mirrors for packman like "http://packman.inode.at/suse/11.2/" but in this repository I can't find kde4-k3b. Is there anything I can do?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Are you sure you know what you need. kde4-k3b is no longer in Packman for 11.2
    Is it not libmad0 that you need.

    can you actually access the Packman home page:
    88.198.164.28

    you could download manually
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Actually I dont know. I'm new to suse and there are lots of ambigious information around. The real question is how can I make an ausio cd out of my mp3's. k3b says it needs MAD. I have installed the codecs form the opensuse-community but still no lick.
    by the way I can access 88.198.164.28 but there is nothing to download.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Can you use any of these Packman mirrors
    Additional package repositories - openSUSE

    Look carefully, it's the top row of the 11.2 section

    Here is a guide for getting things to work
    Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide - openSUSE Forums

    Take note of doing this at the end
    http://public.bay.livefilestore.com/...er%20Final.png
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Thanks for your fast reply.
    after I added the repo you mentioned and chaging into it, It downgrades some of my packages. Should I continue with it or not?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    All the downgraded ones are packman version. so I did the downgrade. Now I'll wait to see the results. Hope everything goes well.
    Although I'm starting to like SUSE but I have to say its repository system is very confusing and slow compared to debian and ubuntu. but I want KDE and SUSE has the best one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    You should be fine. Good luck friend
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Sorry! Still no luck. When I try to make an audio cd it says that I shoud convert mp3 to wav by another program.
    Which packages should I exactly install? I have all the packages you mentioned in your guide except amarok-packman. I think there is something wrong with the repository I choose.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How can I have MAD for k3b (kde 4)?

    Why is .wav involved here at all?
    Audio cd's generally are made up with .mp3

    Just click the create audio cd option in k3b and from the upper section drag or click to add each .mp3 file

    .wav are some kind of windows rubbish anyway
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •