Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Kaffeine in kde4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Thumbs up Kaffeine in kde4

    Has anyone else noticed how well it works?
    I had it playing a DVD tonight that VLC wouldn't touch

    Now it was always the case that we would need it from Packman - But not now.
    Yep, I do have all the codecs from Packman of course.
    ===================================================

    Code:
    rpm -qi kaffeine
    Name        : kaffeine                     Relocations: (not relocatable)
    Version     : 0.9+1.0pre2                       Vendor: obs://build.opensuse.org/KDE
    Release     : 9.7                           Build Date: Fri 18 Dec 2009 21:20:00 GMT
    Install Date: Mon 21 Dec 2009 21:04:58 GMT      Build Host: build36
    Group       : Productivity/Multimedia/Video/Players   Source RPM: kaffeine-0.9+1.0pre2-9.7.src.rpm
    Size        : 1281258                          License: GPL v2 or later
    Signature   : DSA/SHA1, Fri 18 Dec 2009 21:20:20 GMT, Key ID 58d8ff412e1efa87
    URL         : http://kaffeine.sourceforge.net/
    Summary     : Xine-Based Multimedia Player
    Description :
    Kaffeine plays all files and devices supported by Xine. For example,
    MPEG files, AVI (if the codec being used is supported by Xine), MP3,
    and Ogg Vorbis. It also handles Video CDs, DVDs, and DVB cards.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #2

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    No for me it sucks, as it doesnt allow me to choose its backend or the drive the DVD is in.
    https://features.opensuse.org/308357

  3. #3

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Kaffeine of KDE4 lacks control of video and subtitle settings (brightness, contrast, and some others). Because of that, I am using Kaffeine of KDE3 in opensuse 11.2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,397

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Kaffeine for KDE4 looked fine at first and then gradually died for me; so I am back to the KDE3 version.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    john hudson wrote:
    > Kaffeine for KDE4 looked fine at first and then gradually died for me;
    > so I am back to the KDE3 version.
    >
    >


    KDE3 konsole is better.
    KDE3 krdc is better.
    KDE3 kaffeine is better.

    Because of this trend, is there something just fundamentally bad about
    KDE4, or have all the applications developers just forgotten what
    makes for a great interface experience??

    Ok... so maybe there's a few nice features in the KDE4 versions.
    Why kill the neat features from the KDE3 version when moving to
    KDE4? It just doesn't make sense to me.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    26,443
    Blog Entries
    34

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcox View Post
    Because of this trend, is there something just fundamentally bad about KDE4, or have all the applications developers just forgotten what makes for a great interface experience??
    I think your sample is too limited.

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcox View Post
    Ok... so maybe there's a few nice features in the KDE4 versions.
    At the office, for corporate meetings, KDE3 was not very usable for me because of its very awkward requirements for trying to clone the display of a laptop on an external projector. KDE4 with the proprietary ATI driver, and also with the older Intel driver "just works" for this and I can much more successfully now use openSUSE (with KDE4) for corporate meetings (where KDE3 failed miserably).

    One might say KDE3 was simply not ready for corporate prime time in this regard, while KDE4 is ready in this respect.

    And to add the needed capability to KDE3 simply was not very feasible given KDE3's mostly unmaintainable code base.

    There is another expression wrt KDE3 vs KDE4: YMMV (your mileage may vary).

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcox View Post
    Why kill the neat features from the KDE3 version when moving to KDE4? It just doesn't make sense to me.
    Probably because you are not a developer who does not get paid for their programming efforts.

    In openSource software, volunteers tend to do the coding, and they code for what itches them, not what itches someone else.

    Anyway, FRANKLY, noone of this belongs on a "Kaffeine in KDE4" thread.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Kaffeine has been broken since 11.2 RC1.

    My belief is that it's part of the intentional crippling.

    I install smplayer on everything now and it works, kaffeine for me is confined to the scrapheap.

    Sad really because it WAS a good player.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    26,443
    Blog Entries
    34

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Quote Originally Posted by growbag View Post
    Kaffeine has been broken since 11.2 RC1..
    Can you "define" broken?

    After seeing this thread, I started using kaffeine in KDE4 on 3 different PCs and it plays back videos well on each PC. I'm not a kaffeine lover (I use smplayer and vlc most of the time) but I thought KDE4 kaffeine did a good job in the playback of the videos on my hard drive. I threw many different video formats/codecs at KDE4 kaffeine. Each of these PCs is running openSUSE-11.2 with KDE-4.3.4 and the hardware on each is completely different (2 are 32-bit and 1 is 64-bit).

    I will not dispute there may be some features in KDE3 Kaffeine that are not in KDE4 kaffeine, but I would not call the superb playback that I saw in KDE4 broken. I think there are better more helpful descriptions.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,397

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcox View Post
    KDE3 konsole is better.
    I have found the KDE4 konsole better for my use; perhaps there has been uneven development of different aspects of the program.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine in kde4

    I'm glad you tried it @oldcpu
    Yep, it's work in progress. But it gives really good playback.

    All the harping back and axe grinding Re: kde3 seems pointless.

    Get this: KDE4 is Now, the future and here to stay. I loved kde3 too, but we have to be progressive. If more of us concentrate our efforts with testing development kde4 - All the better.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •