Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is available?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is available?

    I'm looking for Qalculate with full GUI for KDE. There's a package for Ubuntu/Debian, but I can't find anything for openSUSE KDE 11.2. Is there an easy way to use the debian package? Some other solution?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    1) go here: Software.openSUSE.org
    2) type in: Qalculate
    3) ???
    4) Profit!!!

  3. #3

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    I have used the following, available from the repositories
    1- alien
    2- deb
    I hope it will help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by rhoahmed View Post
    I have used the following, available from the repositories
    1- alien
    2- deb
    I hope it will help
    Thank you. Those are interesting options too. But given that alien is experimental and that I couldn't find deb, I'm inclined to just compile from source.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,585
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by MountainX View Post
    I couldn't find deb,...
    I'm not advocating the use of alien, but the .deb files are easy to find.

    The .deb files are linked from the source forge page:
    Qalculate! - the ultimate desktop calculator which takes one here: Debian -- Package Search Results -- qalculate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I'm not advocating the use of alien, but the .deb files are easy to find.

    The .deb files are linked from the source forge page:
    Qalculate! - the ultimate desktop calculator which takes one here: Debian -- Package Search Results -- qalculate
    I know about deb packages. I have qalculate installed on Ubuntu already. But I thought the previous post was saying there were two tools. One called alien and one called deb" (which I took to be a tool for converting rpms to debs). I guess I just read it wrong.

    And I am not highly inclined to use alien. I'm giving up on compiling from source because of the specific Qt requirement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,585
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by MountainX View Post
    I know about deb packages. I have qalculate installed on Ubuntu already. But I thought the previous post was saying there were two tools. One called alien and one called deb" (which I took to be a tool for converting rpms to debs). I guess I just read it wrong.

    And I am not highly inclined to use alien. I'm giving up on compiling from source because of the specific Qt requirement.
    I agree with your assessment re: using alien. I deliberately left "alien" out of my software hints how-to.

    I think the odds of it working with KDE on openSUSE are slim if converted with alien.

    Still, for the record, my understanding is if you have a .deb application packaged as "package.deb" to convert it to an rpm one would type (using the most simple options):
    Code:
    alien --to-rpm package.deb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,585
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I agree with your assessment re: using alien. I deliberately left "alien" out of my software hints how-to.

    I think the odds of it working with KDE on openSUSE are slim if converted with alien.

    Still, for the record, my understanding is if you have a .deb application packaged as "package.deb" to convert it to an rpm one would type (using the most simple options):
    Code:
    alien --to-rpm package.deb
    ... and for the above to work you need the rpm "alien" and the rpm "deb" installed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,585
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by MountainX View Post
    And I am not highly inclined to use alien. I'm giving up on compiling from source because of the specific Qt requirement.
    As noted, I also am not inclined to use "alien" to convert .deb to .rpm packages.

    However, having typed that, I also have a "sandbox" PC on which I can experiment with ideas, to see if they work, so that if I mess things up totally, there is nothing lost except at the very worst the need to setup my sandbox PC again. Fortunately in today's day of quick openSUSE installations, that is easy. ...

    So I went here: Debian -- Package Download Selection -- qalculate-kde_0.9.6-3+b1_amd64.deb and downloaded: qalculate-kde_0.9.6-3+b1_amd64.deb .

    Note I have deb and alien installed:
    Code:
    oldcpu@hal1000:~/tars> rpm -q deb alien
    deb-1.15.0-14.3.x86_64
    alien-8.78-1.1.noarch
    Then I ran with root permissions on a 64-bit openSUSE-11.2 with KDE-4.3.4 :
    Code:
    alien --scripts --to-rpm qalculate-kde_0.9.6-3+b1_amd64.deb
    That created qalculate-kde-0.9.6-4.x86_64.rpm which I then installed with zypper:
    Code:
    zypper install qalculate-kde-0.9.6-4.x86_64.rpm
    That installed the executeable "qalculate-kde" in /usr/bin/

    I then ran qalculate-kde and it seems to work in KDE-4.3.4.

    As the saying goes YMMV (your mileage may vary).

    Have fun! and Merry Christmas !
    Last edited by oldcpu; 27-Dec-2009 at 06:19.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,585
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: What to do when no RPM is available but a DEB is availab

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    That installed the executeable "qalculate-kde" in /usr/bin/

    I then ran qalculate-kde and it seems to work in KDE-4.3.4.
    I forgot to include this image in the last post of qalculate-kde running on a 64-bit openSUSE-11.2 with KDE-4.3.4:

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •