Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 48

Thread: gfx boot loading screen

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Some place in Washington
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Naw, the nVidia is about 1 yr old. Asus EN8500GT with 512MB ram. Works great when I am running Guild Wars on my system.

    You may consider it antiquated.

    John

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Has anyone tried changing the bootsplash in the running system - via system settings - Appearance - Splash Screen?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnfm3 View Post
    Naw, the nVidia is about 1 yr old. Asus EN8500GT with 512MB ram. Works great when I am running Guild Wars on my system.

    You may consider it antiquated.

    John
    Maybe you mean a PCI -E (Express) then.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Some place in Washington
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Its been a long holiday...LOL

    John

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Some place in Washington
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    ksplashx-suse is selected. And when I tested it, it showed to work just fine.

    But during boot, it fails.
    Going to try locating new themes.

    John

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Just for the sake of interest. My menu is:

    Code:
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title openSUSE 11.2 - 2.6.31.5-0.1
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.5-0.1-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST9160827AS_5RF16D1B-part2 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST9160827AS_5RF16D1B-part5 splash=silent quiet showopts vga=0x367
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.31.5-0.1-default
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Some place in Washington
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Nope. No Good. I am about ready to give up. I just find it sad that when using the configuration tools provided to configure, it doesnt work.

    John

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    And the top section

    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 8
    ##YaST - generic_mbr
    gfxmenu (hd0,1)/boot/message
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Some place in Washington
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    On one of my lower quality systems, I used a vga setting from a install, suppose to be generic video setting. Do you know what I am talking about?

    This was from way back when 9.0 was fresh out.

    John
    Last edited by Johnfm3; 26-Dec-2009 at 22:05. Reason: clarification

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,726
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: gfx boot loading screen

    Try this

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title openSUSE 11.2 - 2.6.31.5-0.1
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31.5-0.1-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HTS543216L9SA00_090910FB22015CFL3UHA-part6 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Hitachi_HTS543216L9SA00_090910FB22015CFL3UHA-part5 quiet showopts
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.31.5-0.1-default
    And then with or without vga=???

    I'm working on another too so stand by
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •