Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    When I try to copy a folder, if the the folder already exists I get a pop up asking me 'Skip', 'Austoskip', 'Write Into' or 'Write Into All'. What happened to the 'Overwrite' option. 'Write Into' or 'Write Into All' are, IMO, confusing, and do not convey understandable options.

    Also, on a slightly different topic, is it possible to get rid of the wastebin pop up asking for confirmation of deleting files?
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dwarfer99 View Post
    When I try to copy a folder, if the the folder already exists I get a pop up asking me 'Skip', 'Austoskip', 'Write Into' or 'Write Into All'. What happened to the 'Overwrite' option. 'Write Into' or 'Write Into All' are, IMO, confusing, and do not convey understandable options.

    Also, on a slightly different topic, is it possible to get rid of the wastebin pop up asking for confirmation of deleting files?
    It is a little confusing I agree. Write in to All is the same as Overwrite (I think)
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    PeeGee NNTP User

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    Dwarfer99 wrote:
    [snip]>
    > Also, on a slightly different topic, is it possible to get rid of the
    > wastebin pop up asking for confirmation of deleting files?
    >
    >


    Have you tried ticking the box "Do not ask again"?

    --
    PeeGee

    Asus m/b M2V-MX SE, AMD LE1640, 2GB, openSUSE 11.0 x86_64/XP Home VBox
    Asus m/b M2NPV-VM, AMD 64X2 3800+, 2GB, openSUSE 10.3 x86_64/XP Home
    dual boot
    Acer Aspire 1350, AMD (M)XP2400+, 768MB, openSUSE 11.2/XP Home dual boot
    Asus eeePC 4G (701), Celeron M353, 2GB, Mandriva 2009.1 on SSD/openSUSE
    11.2 on USB disk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Earl Shilton UK
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    Write into all: Only for folders, overwrites all folders (inc subfolders)
    Write into: prompts for each subfolder

    You'll also get Overwrite & Overwrite all when a file is encountered, thye mean the same as they did before.

    When I copy a folder onto say my backup disk, I select 'Write into all', which (re)creates the folder structure, then asks me about files to which I say 'Overwrite all', which overwrites all the files. Could choose autoskip which should only copy changed/new files but I don't know how it works for sure.

    I was also a bit confused until the file popup came up, then all was clear

    Edit: to be clear, 'Write Into' is only for folders, 'Overwrite' is only for files
    Last edited by weighty_foe; 22-Dec-2009 at 05:42. Reason: Clarity
    Happily using Linux since 1998
    Share & Enjoy

  5. #5

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dwarfer99 View Post
    Also, on a slightly different topic, is it possible to get rid of the wastebin pop up asking for confirmation of deleting files?
    In Dolphin:
    Click on Settings > Configure Dolphin...
    In the Dolphin Preferences window, the General section has a check-box "Ask for confirmation when... Deleting file or folders"

    I think that should do it. Hope this helps!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    As far as copying is concerned whilst I understand what people are saying I think that they have overegged the pudding. The developers seems to have gone out of their way to complicate matters and moved away from the normal, expected behaviour.

    As to the wastebin, the 'Ask For Confirmation When..' thingo is unchecked, so it is not that. That is for confirmation when moving items to the wastebin, or when just deleting without first putting items into the waste bin. I am trying to stop the bothersome 'Are You Sure?' thing when emptying the wastebin. And....

    There is NO "Do not ask again" box, so ticking it is somewhat problematic.
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Copying/Moving in KDE4.3

    Oh okay... Yeah it's a bit cumbersome!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •