Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting Around In KDE 4.3 ...

Default Getting Around In KDE 4.3 ...

is a major accomplishment. I've been using Linux since year 2000, and I have to say, while the KDE developers seem to have eliminated most of the bugs and irritations, this is still far from intuitive.

See this thread for an example. Removing Desktop Icons - openSUSE Forums

So far, here's what I've accomplished:

1. Installed OS 11.2 from the live CD. I accidentally (accidentally!) clicked the "close" icon on one of the plasma dashboard thingies and it disappeared. Took FOREVER to get something like it back, but the text was ugly (instead of just "Firefox," the label had become "Firefox.Desktop").

Memo to KDE developers: you should never, ever, EVER, allow the user to click something right on the main desktop that doesn't offer a quick, easy "undo" or "return to default." That's unacceptable.

2. I decided to do a full OS 11.2 NET install. My desktop looked nice, and (to me pleased surprise) NVidia drivers installed without a hitch, but configuring the desktop the way I like is still completely non-intuitive.

Example: in the upper right corner, I right clicked on the thingy and accidentally selected something that made all desktop wallpapers go away, the dashboard went away. The menu when I click in the upper right corner now contains two items: "Add Widgets" and "Desktop Settings" (which brings up a nearly-useless dialog that simply lets you set the wallpaper). No way to get back. I have no idea how to restore the orginal menu and the dashboard.

By the way ... I assume that I'm talking about the "Dashboard." That's the semi-transparent box-thingie in the upper left of the screen with a Mozilla icon, a Suse Help icon, and a few others. One other wonderful feature about KDE 4.3 is that it DOESN'T EVEN TELL YOU THE NAME OF THE BOX/WIDGET/Whatever you're looking at. It's just ASSUMED that you know.