Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Drop All Elevated Privileges ... ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Drop All Elevated Privileges ... ?

    What exactly does this mean? A Google search didn't reveal a whole lot about this. I've noticed in 11.2 that when (for example) I enter my root password to install updates, a little key icon appears in the tray. If I click it (which I did, by mistake ), the updates won't finish, so this obviously drops the root privileges for the updater applet. (I say "obviously," I should say, "I guess.")

    For the record, I always choose a separate root password for system administration. Just personal preference.

    While I'm on a roll, one other thing has puzzled me for some time now (dating back to my Mandrake 7.0 days with KDE 2): the little "keep this password" checkbox when you enter the root password. Once again, online help hasn't been very informative. What exactly does this do? Why is this even an option, and when would I want it? I've tried clicking it and leaving it unclicked and can't see any difference in how anything behaves.

    Neither is anything even close to a Big Deal(tm), I'm just curious.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Drop All Elevated Privileges ... ?

    Quote Originally Posted by smpoole7 View Post
    What exactly does this mean? A Google search didn't reveal a whole lot about this. I've noticed in 11.2 that when (for example) I enter my root password to install updates, a little key icon appears in the tray. If I click it (which I did, by mistake ), the updates won't finish, so this obviously drops the root privileges for the updater applet. (I say "obviously," I should say, "I guess.")

    For the record, I always choose a separate root password for system administration. Just personal preference.

    While I'm on a roll, one other thing has puzzled me for some time now (dating back to my Mandrake 7.0 days with KDE 2): the little "keep this password" checkbox when you enter the root password. Once again, online help hasn't been very informative. What exactly does this do? Why is this even an option, and when would I want it? I've tried clicking it and leaving it unclicked and can't see any difference in how anything behaves.

    Neither is anything even close to a Big Deal(tm), I'm just curious.
    I don't use the updater.

    Keep Password doesn't make much sense to me either
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,140

    Default Re: Drop All Elevated Privileges ... ?

    I'm curious as to why it was added, seems to use GTK things under KDE as well as I've an ugly looking GTK window popping up... and I'm quite sure that isn't from the updater itself.
    Special effects <- KDE 4.2 Showing off
    More KDE -> PINK KDE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,001

    Default Re: Drop All Elevated Privileges ... ?

    I allready saw this silly thing, but did not pay much attention. Your post triggered me to a bit of experimenting. It shows as long as YaST runs (@caf4926, it is not restricted to the update applet, smpoole7 only stated that he was updating, not saying he used the applet for this). I tried if it was started at every kdesu, but it is not.

    When you right-click on it, there is some sort of heading: KsysTrayCmd. Using Google I found man ksystraycmd (1) - Allows any application to be kept in the system tray - Linux Manual - Digipedia
    That a left click kills (the functionality) of YaST (as you found out) is of course idiot. Whe I want to stop YaST, I stop YaST.

    In the Right click theree are sme "remove/kill me red crosses" . I did not test if this remove it definitely from your desktop. I am afraid it will return at the next YaST session to the joy of the programmer who made this only.

    The checkbox "to keep the password in memory" is allready there for many releases. It keeps the root password for a certain length of tiime (I remember people stating 15 mins) somewhere (?). And indeed, when you have it checked and stop YaST and start it it again, it will not ask for the root password. Again of little comfort imho, and giving some less security. But at least here one can understand why it is there and can decide for oneself if one wants to use it.
    Henk van Velden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •