Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: System settings, bug problem?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Question System settings, bug problem?

    Hi guys, when I go to YAST>system> etc/sysconfig editor I notice that a lot of entries are listed twice. This can't be right surely? Is it a problem or should I ignore it? Could some of you guys look at yours to see if this is common?




    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,130

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    You could check if they are also twice represented in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    i believe there should be a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom of
    that pane where the (for example) "DISPLAYMANANGER_rand..." is listed,
    and if you scroll you will see that one is

    DISPLAYMANANGER_randr_mode_vga and the other maybe something like
    DISPLAYMANANGER_randr_mode_auto
    etc

    --
    palladium

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,130

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    Hm, that could be true for those with the ... at the end, but I see a few shorter ones that are double: KDM_USERS, KDM_GREETSTRING and DISPLAYMANAGER.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    OH...well, maybe one is KDE3 and the other KDE4??

    on the other hand i know the OP has had many false starts and problems
    with his/her system...so, there really is no telling what is going on
    there...

    or, maybe the doubles *is* a big reason he has so many problems..

    --
    palladium

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    You could check if they are also twice represented in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager.
    No they are not, Henk, There is a file called displaymanager.orig which seems to be a copy, although there are minor differences

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,130

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    Well, when they are only once in displaymanager, we can assume the file is allright. The .orig file might be made by YaST to save the original, or it might be done by a carefull system manager (you?) to have a backup. I do not see that the .orig file influences the strange behaviour.

    When you have time left, you could do some experimenting, like changing a value in one of the first bunch, restoring it, changing in the second bunch, Each time exiting the YaST module and looking inside the file to see the wonders of nature .

    I suppose this is in 11.2? As soon as I hop over (10.3 here, but dual boot) I will check what I have.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    Checked on a fairly fresh install of 11.2 (32bit). They are not doubled here.
    Technology is 'stuff that doesn't work yet.' -- Bran Ferren

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,130

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    Hopped over to 11.2. Same as vodoo, no doubles there.

    BUT, I got an idea, a bit to late, again in 103. NEVERTHELESS:

    I copied displaymanger to displaymanager.org and see: DOUBLES!
    Must be the same on 11.2.

    I think that when you delete displaymanager.org (or move it away somewhere), your problem will be gone. Still strange.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: System settings, bug problem?

    yep. It's reproducible here. Did a 'cp displaymanager displaymanager.orig' and ... lights on ... drums ... all options show doubled in yast sysconfig-Editor.

    I would call that a bug in yast.
    Technology is 'stuff that doesn't work yet.' -- Bran Ferren

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •