Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,140

    Default Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    With OpenOffice.org 3.1.1. (Build 3.1.1.4) I can't even store the most basic of documents as .doc without it messing things up.

    For example if I create the simplest of files, a heading 1 with some text.. the heading will have a list icon (bullet) infront of it.
    Anything with tables goes completely to hell, this is with the the "Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP (.doc)" option.

    Seems to be a rather recent change as it used to do this better in the past and seems to big of a thing to go unnoticed.. so is this caused by something at my end somehow or is everyone experiencing difficulty with this?

    Resorted to exporting as PDFs for now which isn't appreciated by the people receiving the documents
    Special effects <- KDE 4.2 Showing off
    More KDE -> PINK KDE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,453

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    I have certainly encountered a problem with converting tables from .odt to .doc format. I got round it by using embedded .ods files instead. I have also encountered a problem converting to .rtf which I have not previously encountered.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    I haven't noticed anything with .docs because I can barely use Writer.

    Anyone else getting massive CPU spikes that hang the whole system while using OOo Writer in 3.1.1.4? It's preventing me from typing up my late lab reports, which I'm currently typing in vi until I can get to a computer lab in the next few hours. I think I saw a bug report about it someplace, but I don't remember. I didn't have this problem with whatever version was included in 11.1.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    Actually i did not face the CPU usage problems. But i did face it with .doc.
    I draw some diagrams in writer and save it as file.doc, because i have to send it to a person who is using windozzz. After saving, when i tried to open the document, it was empty. I was surprised, i did save it after each edit in the diagram.
    Then i start writing and making the diagram again(pain in the neck). and save it as .pdf and send it.
    I am really not sure, why that happened. I did try it later for testing and the same results with no diagrams.
    Maybe i would try Koffice or abiword.
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  5. #5

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    Add me to that, I first notice it when I save to .doc it screws all that start with a bullet when reopening the document.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,140

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    Created a bugreport on the Novell bugtracker which was accepted and bumped up a nudge in severity.
    Last post atm (the third one) also provides a workaround.
    Special effects <- KDE 4.2 Showing off
    More KDE -> PINK KDE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    I have the bullet before heading problem as well. Also find that cut-and-paste within a document can be tricky. Sometimes it works, sometimes it just plain refuses to paste...
    I'd love to love OOo but it's the main reason I keep a Virtualbox XP with Office 2007 around...
    Günter

    Desk: Leap 42.2, KDE 5, Intel i3, 8Gb, Kingston 64Gb SSD, 2 SATA.
    Lap: Thinkpad T430, Tumbleweed, Intel i5, 8Gb, SSD.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Did openoffice get worse at storing .docs?

    Quote Originally Posted by Axeia View Post
    Created a bugreport on the Novell bugtracker which was accepted and bumped up a nudge in severity.
    Last post atm (the third one) also provides a workaround.
    Same problem here. The proposed workaround solves the problem, however now the native OOo dialog boxes are used, instead of the KDE's ones.
    --
    Davor Čengija

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •