Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Firefox not working after update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany Munich area
    Posts
    12

    Default Firefox not working after update

    Hi,
    yesterday I install some updates (via the KDE update applet) on my x86_64 11.2 installation (final version). Since then firefox refuse to open some pages and also the openSUSE start pages looking strange (no graphics).
    Is here a known issue with the last provided updates ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    GMT-7
    Posts
    382

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Was your 11.2 installation an upgrade from 11.1, or fresh install? There was a post yesterday where the 11.1 to 11.2 upgrade caused a specific issue that caused all links to go back to your start page.
    Desk: AMD Phenom II X4 945 8GB RAM Radeon HD 3300 Arch Linux Xfce 4.8
    Lap: Intel 2.13GHz Core i3 M330 8GB RAM nVidia GeForce 310M Arch Linux KDE 4.7.3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany Munich area
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    > Was your 11.2 installation an upgrade from 11.1, or fresh install

    Fresh install.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Try doing this in a terminal:
    firefox

    report the output
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany Munich area
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    OK starting firefox from a terminal gives:

    kkeil@kke240:~> firefox
    *** nss-shared-helper: Shared database disabled (set NSS_USE_SHARED_DB to enable).
    kkeil@kke240:~>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Try renaming your .mozilla folder to .mozilla-old

    Start FF
    It will be completely clean / fresh
    Does it work
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    This sounds related to this issue:
    http://forums.opensuse.org/applicati...k-clicked.html

    I solved the issue by upgrading firefox to the one in the "openSUSE BuildService - Mozilla" repository.
    opensuse 12.1 x86-64 kde

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany Munich area
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Try renaming your .mozilla folder to .mozilla-old

    Start FF
    It will be completely clean / fresh
    Does it work
    No, this was the first thing I tried.I cannot open any other page, but the start page (which is the page about the Firefox update).
    Currently I'm running a user local copy of the 32 bit upstream version without any issues yet, but I think the root cause of that issue should be discovered.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany Munich area
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Quote Originally Posted by nsalem View Post
    This sounds related to this issue:
    Opensuse 11.2 Firefox loads Google when any link is clicked - openSUSE Forums

    I solved the issue by upgrading firefox to the one in the "openSUSE BuildService - Mozilla" repository.
    Yes I think that is related (also in bugzilla https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=557385)
    As workaround I'm running a local copy of the mainstream firefox version.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox not working after update

    Do you have gecko-mediaplayer installed? It doesn't look like it, but just checking?!
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •