Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Confused with Desktop Effects

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stoney Stanton - England
    Posts
    1,105

    Default Confused with Desktop Effects

    Working on a standard p/c with a clean install of 11.2 64bit. nvidia driver is installed and it shows that 'desktop effects' are enabled.

    I read on planet suse that the updated compiz packages are now available for 11.2 so I added the repo and went to upgrade but to my surprise compiz wasn't installed. So can I take it that kwin does the 'desktop effects' and that the compiz packages are not needed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    Quote Originally Posted by dth2 View Post
    Working on a standard p/c with a clean install of 11.2 64bit. nvidia driver is installed and it shows that 'desktop effects' are enabled.

    I read on planet suse that the updated compiz packages are now available for 11.2 so I added the repo and went to upgrade but to my surprise compiz wasn't installed. So can I take it that kwin does the 'desktop effects' and that the compiz packages are not needed?
    Correct. In kde at least.
    Compiz is not Needed - just use kwin. That's not to say you can't use it, but it drags a load of gnome stuff in now.
    kwin is just fine, better IMO
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,442

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    > Working on a standard p/c with a clean install of 11.2 64bit. nvidia
    > driver is installed and it shows that 'desktop effects' are enabled.
    >
    > I read on planet suse that the updated compiz packages are now
    > available for 11.2 so I added the repo and went to upgrade but to my
    > surprise compiz wasn't installed. So can I take it that kwin does the
    > 'desktop effects' and that the compiz packages are not needed?


    If you are a KDE user and happy with kwin effects then no you don't need
    compiz. GNOME does if you want effects.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stoney Stanton - England
    Posts
    1,105

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    I am using kde (sorry I should have included this info).

    Thanks for confirming that compiz is not needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mallow, Ireland
    Posts
    1,031
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    Quote Originally Posted by dth2 View Post
    Thanks for confirming that compiz is not needed.
    Not needed but it can be used in KDE. I think it has certain effects that Kwin doesn't have (yet). Also, if you use compiz-fusion you can use the emerald window decorators which can be pretty nice.

    But personally, Kwin is great and does all I need it to do.
    "To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Charleston, SC, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    Before kwin came around, I always had a ton of trouble getting compiz and KDE to work well together. It could have been b/c I was using kubuntu at the time, but compiz was always crashing. I longed for a compositing manager that worked well with KDE.

    Granted, the original version of kwin was shite and didn't play well with nvidia cards, but that was a lot of releases ago. Now, I don't even think about it because everything works so seamlessly and every new release of KDE4 brings in even more improvements.
    Last edited by srschifano; 25-Nov-2009 at 19:04. Reason: typo
    My personal philosophy:
    The only way you won't find something is if you stop looking.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    I have a problem with kwin:
    I would like to activate the zoom with ctrl-<mouse_wheel_up/down>. However I can't seem to enable mouse actions for kwin. It only accepts keyboard input which makes it unusable for me. Anybody knows a work around. Also in general kwin has just to few options compared to compiz and emerald is also much more beautiful then kde window decorator...

    Also tried compiz, but there I have a problem that the pager doesn't rotate the cube when switching desktops. can this be solved?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    For rotate cube in compiz, make sure you have the Rotate Cube plugin enabled in the CompizConfig Settings Manager (CCSM).

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  9. #9

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    Quote Originally Posted by ijbreakey View Post
    For rotate cube in compiz, make sure you have the Rotate Cube plugin enabled in the CompizConfig Settings Manager (CCSM).

    Take Care,

    Ian
    I know I know. I just doesn't seem to work with KDE. Or have I forgotton something specific?
    I am a gnome user trying out kde. In gnome this was never a problem. KDE on the other hand. It also doesn't load the fusion-icon when kde starts

  10. #10

    Default Re: Confused with Desktop Effects

    Ok got it working now. I needed to set the number of desktops to 1 instead of 4 in pager plasmoid.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •