kmail questions

I’m new to kde and want to try the kde email client kmail. I use gmail most of the time. A few questions about it:

1. Security: both the imap (receive) and smtp (send) servers are set to use SSL which is ok. But kmail also has an option for authentication method. By default “clear text” is selected. Does this mean my pasword is send in cleartext even if SSL is used? Clearly I want my pasword to be encrypted;)
  2. When kmail/kontact starts, it immediately asks for my pasword. Can I disable this? I only want to give in my pasword when I click on check new mail button.
  3. When composing a new mail, I can’t find a nice gui to insert emoticons/smileys. Off course I could just type the smileys ‘: )’ but I would expect an email client to have a gui for it. Does kmail have one?

Thx!

Well, clear text means not encrypted, but it is really your email server that defines the possibilities here. If your server supports SSL, you can certainly pick SSL.

To answer number 2, go to “Settings” >> “Configure KMail”, click on “Accounts” and just below the list of accounts is a check box that says “Check mail on startup”

On 2009-11-29, suskewiet <suskewiet@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:
>
> I’m new to kde and want to try the kde email client kmail. I use gmail
> most of the time. A few questions about it:
>
>
> - Security: both the imap (receive) and smtp (send) servers are set
> to use SSL which is ok. But kmail also has an option for
> authentication method. By default “clear text” is selected. Does this
> mean my pasword is send in cleartext even if SSL is used? Clearly I
> want my pasword to be encrypted;)

You use Gmail, but you’re concerned about security and password visibility ?
That just doesn’t make sense.

> - When composing a new mail, I can’t find a nice gui to insert
> emoticons/smileys. Off course I could just type the smileys ‘: )’ but
> I would expect an email client to have a gui for it. Does kmail have
> one?