Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: desktop slow and bloated

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    178

    Question desktop slow and bloated

    Konqueror is just slightly better than Firefox. Example: I spin the scroll wheel (middle button of mouse) to move down the page -- nothing. So I do it again -- nothing. So I spin it back the other way -- still nothing. So I click the go back one page arrow -- nothing. So then I'm sitting here perplexed, and then the page goes down, stops, goes down some more, stops, then goes back up, stops, then goes back a page.

    I'm here typing this post, I'm pushing keys, screen stays as it was, after two or three seconds, words appear.

    Can someone tell me what to do to fix this? I'd really appreciate it.
    AMD Athlon II X2 220, 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, PNY GeForce 210; 1 TB: Windows 7HP, Ubuntu 13.10, DBLab/Linux Mint 16 Remix, Suse 12.1 KDE.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    Why don't you check top and see if something is eating up your resources?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    Quote Originally Posted by Randymanme View Post
    Konqueror is just slightly better than Firefox. Example: I spin the scroll wheel (middle button of mouse) to move down the page -- nothing. So I do it again -- nothing. So I spin it back the other way -- still nothing. So I click the go back one page arrow -- nothing. So then I'm sitting here perplexed, and then the page goes down, stops, goes down some more, stops, then goes back up, stops, then goes back a page.

    I'm here typing this post, I'm pushing keys, screen stays as it was, after two or three seconds, words appear.

    Can someone tell me what to do to fix this? I'd really appreciate it.
    I agree with chief_sealth, the first thing you should do is to open up System Monitor and check your CPU and RAM usage. Post back the results.

    Regards.
    "Darkness called But I was on the phone, so I missed him. I tried to *69 Darkness, but his machine picked up. I yelled "Pick up the phone, Darkness!," but he ignored me. Darkness must have been screening his calls."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    GMT-7
    Posts
    382

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    If System Monitor takes forever to open (it sometimes does that at the most ackward moments), open a Konsole Terminal and run 'top'. Post back the results.
    Desk: AMD Phenom II X4 945 8GB RAM Radeon HD 3300 Arch Linux Xfce 4.8
    Lap: Intel 2.13GHz Core i3 M330 8GB RAM nVidia GeForce 310M Arch Linux KDE 4.7.3

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    When I run "top" in the konsole, ti show more info than system monitor does -- but I'm not able to copy either one. Konsole lets me select the data (system monitor doesn't), but as soon as I let go of the left mouse button, it deselects.

    So I need someone to tell me how to copy this output.
    AMD Athlon II X2 220, 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, PNY GeForce 210; 1 TB: Windows 7HP, Ubuntu 13.10, DBLab/Linux Mint 16 Remix, Suse 12.1 KDE.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    GMT-7
    Posts
    382

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    Hit "q" - it will stop the auto-refresh and bring you back to the prompt. You can then copy/paste the contents.
    Desk: AMD Phenom II X4 945 8GB RAM Radeon HD 3300 Arch Linux Xfce 4.8
    Lap: Intel 2.13GHz Core i3 M330 8GB RAM nVidia GeForce 310M Arch Linux KDE 4.7.3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    The system load veiwer widget on the menu bar says cpu usage is fluctuating between 3 to 8%, ram usage 55-56%, and swap is 2% (the figures change as I'm looking at them). The RAM viewer widget shows physical: 276.9 KiB 649.3 KiB, and Swap: 16.0 KiB 1,004.0 KiB.

    Seems like I recall that 11.1's system monitor showed an actual running graph (I can't think of the name of that type of graph, but it was sort of like a running EKG reading) that showed the activity of each cpu individually. Can I get that installed on 11.2? What's it called?
    AMD Athlon II X2 220, 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, PNY GeForce 210; 1 TB: Windows 7HP, Ubuntu 13.10, DBLab/Linux Mint 16 Remix, Suse 12.1 KDE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    178

    Smile Re: desktop slow and bloated

    top - 15:31:57 up 37 min, 3 users, load average: 0.14, 0.16, 0.25
    Tasks: 133 total, 2 running, 131 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 20.5%us, 4.5%sy, 0.0%ni, 74.7%id, 0.0%wa, 0.3%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 511328k total, 444296k used, 67032k free, 10332k buffers
    Swap: 1028120k total, 16396k used, 1011724k free, 159392k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    1322 root 20 0 124m 62m 4044 S 30 12.5 4:35.50 Xorg
    2091 randall 20 0 412m 124m 26m S 8 25.0 5:12.48 firefox
    1564 randall 20 0 270m 36m 25m S 6 7.3 1:14.19 plasma-desktop
    2561 randall 20 0 117m 20m 10m R 2 4.1 0:49.90 npviewer.bin
    4742 randall 20 0 97360 18m 13m S 2 3.7 0:09.40 konsole
    1555 randall 20 0 235m 19m 15m S 1 3.9 0:05.48 kwin
    4767 root 20 0 2564 1020 772 R 1 0.2 0:09.90 top
    4884 randall 20 0 2436 1016 712 S 1 0.2 0:08.21 ksysguardd
    1 root 20 0 1940 616 568 S 0 0.1 0:01.70 init
    2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
    3 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/0
    AMD Athlon II X2 220, 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, PNY GeForce 210; 1 TB: Windows 7HP, Ubuntu 13.10, DBLab/Linux Mint 16 Remix, Suse 12.1 KDE.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    LIncoln, NE
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    I had similar issues when my display drivers wernt working properly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: desktop slow and bloated

    Is that the output when you get the slow scrolling in Firefox?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •