Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, US
    Posts
    188

    Default RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    I've just done a clean install of OS 11.2 x86_64, KDE 4.3.1, and got the following message from RPM while installing multimedia support files from Packman using zypper on the command line:

    Code:
    warning: /var/cache/zypp/packages/ftp.skynet.be-suse/noarch/rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 9a795806
    Similar messages were coming up while installing other packages through Yast, and I'm wondering what the issue is. All of the messages were about the "key ID" at the end of the example line. (Everything is working so I'm not sure if this is a problem or not.)

    Cheers.
    Go for it! You can always re-install...

    Registered Linux User #452291

    Windows Vista Boot Error: (S)hout, (P)arty, (D)ance, (L)inux? (L/L)?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    This does happen from time to time. If you remove the Packman repo and re-add it, it should sort it.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, US
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    Thank you, I'll give that a try.
    Go for it! You can always re-install...

    Registered Linux User #452291

    Windows Vista Boot Error: (S)hout, (P)arty, (D)ance, (L)inux? (L/L)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, US
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    This does happen from time to time. If you remove the Packman repo and re-add it, it should sort it.
    Just wanted to add that I tried your suggestion, but it didn't work. It only happens with the Packman repo so far as I can tell. I installed a few things with zypper from the main repo & no extra messages. Installed some updates in Yast and all the ones from Packman had the extra output.

    Not sure what's going on, but it doesn't seem to keep things from working.
    Go for it! You can always re-install...

    Registered Linux User #452291

    Windows Vista Boot Error: (S)hout, (P)arty, (D)ance, (L)inux? (L/L)?

  5. #5
    jkupec NNTP User

    Lightbulb Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    It seems that each contributor of Packman packages uses his/her own package signing key. These are published on their web site, and in this package: rpmkey-packman

    Installing the package and importing all the keys in it to rpm database seems to get rid of the NOKEY messages:
    Code:
    $ rpm -i rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch.rpm
    $ rpm --import $(rpm -ql rpmkey-packman | grep 'asc$')

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, US
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    Thanks for that info! That got rid of the nokey messages.

    Go for it! You can always re-install...

    Registered Linux User #452291

    Windows Vista Boot Error: (S)hout, (P)arty, (D)ance, (L)inux? (L/L)?

  7. #7
    upscope NNTP User

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    jkupec wrote:

    >
    > It seems that each contributor of Packman packages uses his/her own
    > package signing key. These are published on their web site, and in
    > this package: 'rpmkey-packman'
    > (http://packman.links2linux.org/package/rpmkey-packman)
    >
    > Installing the package and importing all the keys in it to rpm
    > database seems to get rid of the NOKEY messages:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > $ rpm -i rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch.rpm
    > $ rpm --import $(rpm -ql rpmkey-packman | grep 'asc$')
    > --------------------
    >

    Thanks for posting this. I installed the package from packman using
    YaST. Do I still need to execute the import command or does YaST do it
    automatically?

    Thanks for the information. Those warning messages were getting on my
    Nerves.

    --
    Russ
    [openSUSE 11.2 (2.6.31.8-0.1-desktop, x86_64] KDE 4.3.4 release 2,
    Intel Core 2 Dual E7200, 4 GB RAM, GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB Disc (2)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, US
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    The same error message has cropped up on my system again. Now I'm back to the NOKEY message from rpm when installing from the Packman repo + another problem.

    Here's what happened when I tried a query & import of the keys again:

    Code:
    linux-xzny:/home/bruces/Downloads # rpm -i rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch.rpm
    warning: rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 9a795806
            package rpmkey-packman-0.3.8-1.pm.1.1.noarch is already installed
    linux-xzny:/home/bruces/Downloads # rpm --import $(rpm -ql rpmkey-packman | grep 'asc$')
    error: /usr/lib/rpm/gnupg/packman-signing.asc: import failed.
    The package seems to be installed, but I have no idea why the error message came back. The good news is that everything still seems to work okay.
    Go for it! You can always re-install...

    Registered Linux User #452291

    Windows Vista Boot Error: (S)hout, (P)arty, (D)ance, (L)inux? (L/L)?

  9. #9
    jkupec NNTP User

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    Quote Originally Posted by upscope View Post
    Thanks for posting this. I installed the package from packman using
    YaST. Do I still need to execute the import command or does YaST do it
    automatically?
    I needed to do the import manually, so the package probably wasn't meant to do it for us.

  10. #10

    Default Re: RPM Warning Installing From Packman Repo?

    I already tried those tricks, installing the packman keys packages, importing keys. I always install packages with zypper (from a script). I could never get rid of these warnings.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •