Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    Looked in YAST and I find no way to change screen resolution. Nvidia driver is installed. It this the wave of the future so locked down you can't tweak the video anymore? You get default and that is it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    You can get the resolution software from sax2. Open the kicker menu and type sax2 in the search box at top and you will see the software.

    OR
    You can change it in "Configure Desktop" tool also.
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  3. #3

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by mmarif4u View Post
    You can change it in "Configure Desktop" tool also.
    I have had issues with this one, so the better solution is Sax2, located in system> configuration> configure x11 system.

    But yeh a lot of distros are moving to auto configs as HAL is going out of favor for stuff like devicekit.
    I just hope it can be patched somehow if auto config fails.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    Thanks TaraIkeda and mmarif4u

    sax2 did the trick, I also found the Nvdida tool by typing nvidia in the kicker. My card is a crappy old Geforce 2 MX400. The sax2 toll is thee better of the two.

    More moving the wrong direction just like KDE 4 was.

  5. #5

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    yeh it is moving in the wrong direction to rely on auto configs, what if they dont work and your screen is stuck at low res?
    I hope there will be tools available to help configure things again, like a frontend to devicekit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mnchen
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    If you start KRandRtray, you will have a small icon in the system part of your taskbar which looks like a computer monitor. Clicking with the right mouse button on this icon, you can change resolution as often as you want. No root privileges required, thats a great advantage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by Pilgervater View Post
    If you start KRandRtray, you will have a small icon in the system part of your taskbar which looks like a computer monitor. Clicking with the right mouse button on this icon, you can change resolution as often as you want. No root privileges required, thats a great advantage.
    Should have been there by default.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mnchen
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: 11.2 KDE where do you change resolution

    Not with a new installation or when you create a new user.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •