Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: YaST problems after upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East England
    Posts
    50

    Default YaST problems after upgrade

    Hi. I'm sorry if I'm duplicating anything here, I did look around but I'm notoriously bad at finding what I'm looking for. Anyway...

    I recently used Wagon to upgrade from 11.1 to 11.2 and am now having some problems with YaST Software Management.

    The most obvious problem in use is the appearance of what I think are supposed to be dialogue windows. They appear full-screen, with a gradient-background, no text and no buttons. They take keyboard input which seems to control buttons, but I'm not sure as none are rendered.

    I had a couple of those pop up when trying to run the software manager. After that it exited and told me to check the log. Unfortunately, my log file seems not to exist!

    It also opened an error dialogue with the following:
    Code:
    terminate called after throwing an instance of 'YUINoDialogException'
      what():  No dialog existing
    YaST got signal 6 at YCP file /usr/share/YaST2/clients/sw_single.ycp:563
    /sbin/yast2: line 440:  6157 Aborted                 $ybindir/y2base $module "$@" "$SELECTED_GUI" $Y2_GEOMETRY $Y2UI_ARGS
    Presumably because of these errors, the update applet also fails to work properly.

    I'm sorry that I can't be more clear about this, but I'm a little lost.

    Any help much appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    Boot to level 3 like this:
    http://public.bay.livefilestore.com/...el3%20boot.png

    At the prompt login as user then switch to su

    Now do this:

    Code:
    zypper ref
    and
    Code:
    zypper dup
    Lets see if that fixes anything. But this assumes you have the correct repos in place!
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East England
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    Thanks, I'm now in the process of trying that. It listed over a gigabyte of updates so it's gonna take a little while. I also found a repository to remove in the process, so maybe that will help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East England
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    Well, this isn't good...

    Part way through the zypper dup process I apparently ran out of space on my root partition. I decided that, with all the changes that had taken place, it might be best to restart before attempting to fix it... in hindsight that was a bad move.

    fsck is missing. My system won't boot for anything but filesystem repair and I'm having trouble getting that to work. Oh. Dear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    If you have the install media for 11.2 (DVD or CD) use it. It looks like you will need to install fresh: Format /
    and keep /home

    If your root partition is small (low disk space?) you might even want to re-jig the whole setup. In which case a Live cd will let you boot up, mount your /home and back it up, before a complete format.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East England
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    Yeah. I actually have a spare 80GB SATA disk so I'll probably just mount that at / *sigh* What a pain though, I'd just got the system how I wanted it!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    I just did all my Box too. Took about 3 hrs all in, I had a large backup to wait for.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East England
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    I've done something very silly. I forgot to install all the 32 bit packages before installing my proprietary ATI driver. Now, naturally, my video output is corrupt.

    I know that in the past I've got around this, issues a boot option that let me into the console, but either I'm using the wrong one (it's been a while) or something has changed. So I'd really appreciate someone who knows these things better than I reminding me which option I need to issue.

    I've been googling madly but I just can't seem to find it

    Edit: Oh, yeah, and runlevel 3 doesn't help, it's still corrupt at that level.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST problems after upgrade

    If you can't get to level 3 I would seriously consider the dvd repair
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •