Thread: RPMs for idiots....

Default RPMs for idiots....

Hi-

I am new to Linux, been using it as my primary system for about two years now. I am at the stage where I am starting to add software that comes from sources other than the installation disk.
    For instance, I downloaded a program onto my media stick. I have tried to install it with YAST both from the stick and after copying it to my HD. I get the following error message

There was an error in the repository initialization.
    'home': Failed to cache repo (1).
    History:
    - Project-Id-Version: YaST (@memory@)
    Report-Msgid-Bugs-To:
    POT-Creation-Date: 2008-04-21 18:58+0200
    PO-Revision-Date: 2007-08-22 14:13+0200
    Last-Translator: proofreader <i18n@suse.de>
    Language-Team: English <i18n@suse.de>
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
    Plural-Forms: nplurals=2; plural=n != 1;

Is there a thread on one of the forums that covers working with RPM files & installation for Idiots like me?
    Alex Troy
    Linux 2.6.25.5-1.1-pae i686
    openSUSE 11.0 (i586)
    KDE: 3.5.9 "release 49.1"

Blog Entries

Default Re: RPMs for idiots....

Quote Originally Posted by alextroy
    Hi-

I am new to Linux, been using it as my primary system for about two
    years now. I am at the stage where I am starting to add software that
    comes from sources other than the installation disk.
    For instance, I downloaded a program onto my media stick. I have tried
    to install it with YAST both from the stick and after copying it to my
    HD. I get the following error message

There was an error in the repository initialization.
    'home': Failed to cache repo (1).
    History:
    - Project-Id-Version: YaST (@memory@)
    Report-Msgid-Bugs-To:
    POT-Creation-Date: 2008-04-21 18:58+0200
    PO-Revision-Date: 2007-08-22 14:13+0200
    Last-Translator: proofreader <i18n@suse.de>
    Language-Team: English <i18n@suse.de>