Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    46

    Question Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    Hi all,

    I have just upgraded with clean install of 11.2. I think it's far better but one thing now is that I can't open some web pages with the new Firefox 3.5.4., including login page for this forum. I have downgraded to FF 3.0.4 to post this thread.

    Also I couldn't open mozilla add ons page to install add ons. I'd love to be able to run Weave on my FF on this PC, sadly it doesn't run on FF 3.0.4.

    Has anyone else had this or know of solution?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, European Union
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    Disabled IPV6 yet?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    Hi Chrysantine,

    No I haven't. How do I do that?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, European Union
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    YAST -> Network Devices -> Network Settings -> Global Options -> remove checkmark from Enable IPV6 -> OK.

    Reboot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brookfield, WI USA
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    11.2 has a bug that prevent unchecking ipv6 in Yast from working, refer:

    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=539869

    Try appending ipv6.disable=1 to your boot parameter during startup to see if it solve your problem. If it works, you can then use yast or edit /boot/grub/menu.lst manually to make it always there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    Does latest update to firefox address connection issues to some websites?

    I'm using an older version for convenience just now.

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    When you say "some websites" which ones work, and which don't? Does any website that isn't cached work, for example?

    I was having some problems where I couldn't connect to any new website, and changing the proxy settings within Firefox from 'Use system proxy settings' to 'No proxy' solved it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    GMT-7
    Posts
    382

    Default Re: Firefox 3.5.4 page loading problem

    Which websites *do* work? The majority? If not, I know there was a weird problem with some bank sites that required the tcp_window_scaling had to be set to 0.
    However, it is very unlikely this would be the problem on a lot of websites.
    Desk: AMD Phenom II X4 945 8GB RAM Radeon HD 3300 Arch Linux Xfce 4.8
    Lap: Intel 2.13GHz Core i3 M330 8GB RAM nVidia GeForce 310M Arch Linux KDE 4.7.3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •