Thread: openSUSE 11.2 amarok 2 volume control

vigilnt NNTP User

Default openSUSE 11.2 amarok 2 volume control

I added the packman repo to my openSUSE 11.2 system, in order to be able to play mp3 on amarok, among other things.
    When I updated the system, there was an unresolved dependency concerning libxine. I solved it by choosing the first option that was presented to me at the time, don't recall what it was...

Now I play mp3 just fine on amarok, but the kmix volume doesn't affect amarok. If I want to reduce the volume of amarok, I must change it directly on amarok.

Don't know if amarok is using a different engine do play sound... Any help?

Thanks.

Default Re: openSUSE 11.2 amarok 2 volume control

Hiya,

I'm no expert on this but it may have to do with the 'device' you/amarok is
    using for output being different from the 'device' kmix is controlling. In
    Amarok under 'Settings-->Configure Amarok-->Playback-->Sound system
    configureation-->Configure-->Device Prefrence-->Music there will probably
    be several 'devices' there. Try different ones in turn to find the one
    that kmix is also on. Oh, one other thing, it's possible that not all of
    them will work on your system. You can always switch them back so don't
    worry.

--
    kev.

I have some kinda funny problem here. My volume jumps arbitrarily up and down (sometimes PCM:100%, Master:14%,LFE:100%, while sometimes Master:0%, or , Master:85% i.e usually either high or low volumes overall.) when i change the song in amarok, either by pressing next (multimedia keys) or by double clicking the song in the playlist.

The PCM slider goes to 100% all the time i change the song. It is scary. anyone having the same problem or anyone with any help please!

BTW, I have reinstalled 11.2 twice,(because of KDE 4.3 crash all the times... now it "seems" stable third time)