Thread: Repositories help!

qweac NNTP User

Default Repositories help!

Hi!

I'm new with OpenSuse. Installed 11.2 yesterday, and I really like it so far.

But I have some problems understanding the repositories. I added packman manually since some guide here told me to. I also installed Kmess with a one click thingy.I just checked my repositories and it's a mess. I even have some saying 11.1, but I'm on 11.2! What's up with that? Can it ruin my system?

URL: Index of /repositories/KDE:/43/openSUSE_11.1
    URL: Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.1_KDE_43

Also, I really want to update Amarok to 2.2, but I can't figure out how. Found this, but I'm a bit sceptical since the repo mentioned there contains so much more than just Amarok.I don't want my entire system to be bleeding edge.

Thanks!

Default Re: Repositories help!

WHy not just delete those 11.1 repos and add 11.2 repos? I also added a few older 11.1 repos for a few apps which had not been ported to 11.2 yet but as long as you keep these repos disabled after installation I don't think it will cause much trouble.
    My Blog: http://pdg86.wordpress.com
    Arch Linux / openSUSE 11.2 / Slackware-Current

Blog Entries

Please do this in a terminal and post result

Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Quote Originally Posted by qweac View Post
    I also installed Kmess with a one click thingy.I just checked my repositories and it's a mess. I even have some saying 11.1, but I'm on 11.2! What's up with that? Can it ruin my system?

URL: Index of /repositories/KDE:/43/openSUSE_11.1
    I'm assuming that http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...E_11.1_KDE_43/ repository was added when you installed Kmess. You must remember that software on http://software.opensuse.org/search/ is available also for older openSUSE releases. Search for and install packages only for openSUSE 11.2.