Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OpenSuse 11.2 KDE version disappointed me

Default OpenSuse 11.2 KDE version disappointed me

I am just a novice Linux user. Though I don't know much of the command-line/system administration techniques, I have tried a lot of distributions in search of a good desktop-oriented distribution. I've already used Ubuntu, LinuxMint, Mandriva and Zenwalk besides so many others. I always have a very good impression on OpenSuse. But the KDE version just disappointed me.

1) After installing, I have opened the KDE network manager and configured my LAN manually. It's saying it is connected but nothing works, neither the browser nor the update manager. There is an icon in the tray saying that my manually configured network is connected. But no application is able to connect to the internet. Then after so much of searching, I just opened yast and changed the network conf to traditional "ifup" method, configured the interface and then rebooted. Then it is working. This is just a disappointment to any new comer. Why the applications are not able to recognize the KDE network manager configuration, except the "auto eth0" ?
    2) I configured my HP Deskjet 930C printer and gave some print outs. To my surprise, there is no icon in the tray showing the status. How can I cancel the print-que in between ?
    3) This is more a KDE problem than of OpenSuse. The default view of fonts is not at all good. There is no anti-aliasing by default. They are not smooth. Of course we can configure them, but we should we at all ? In GNOME, there is no such problem. The fonts are smooth by default.

I am downloading GNOME version. I will see how it works. I am just not going away from OpenSuse just because of some minor problems. Because I want to give it so much trials that I already gave to other distributions.

I am waiting for any replies, to know if I did something wrong.

Default Re: OpenSuse 11.2 KDE version disappointed me