Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Adding a third monitor

  1. #1
    Yarnie NNTP User

    Default Adding a third monitor

    Hello, I own a Toshiba Satellite A215 laptop. I have had a secondary monitor running on it for some time, but I have a third monitor now from an old computer that doesnt work anymore. I also have a splitter, so that supposedly I can set it up to view three separate screens, all attached. However, when I plug the two externals in, they mirror each other...so essentially, i have the same thing I had before, with an extra screen displaying my secondary monitor. Any suggestions how to make it "attach" instead of "mirror"?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,078

    Default Re: Adding a third monitor

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2009 02:56:01 +0000, Yarnie wrote:

    > I also have a splitter, so
    > that supposedly I can set it up to view three separate screens, all
    > attached.


    A "splitter" by definition feeds the same video signal to two different
    monitors - if you want different images, you need a video card that
    supports multiple monitors.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Rockyford Alberta Canada
    Posts
    1,362

    Lightbulb Re: Adding a third monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Yarnie View Post
    Hello, I own a Toshiba Satellite A215 laptop. I have had a secondary monitor running on it for some time, but I have a third monitor now from an old computer that doesnt work anymore. I also have a splitter, so that supposedly I can set it up to view three separate screens, all attached. However, when I plug the two externals in, they mirror each other...so essentially, i have the same thing I had before, with an extra screen displaying my secondary monitor. Any suggestions how to make it "attach" instead of "mirror"?

    Thanks.
    You may not like this but, standard video output devices on laptops can operate LCD as monitor #1, VGA as Monitor #1, or LCD as #1 & VGA as monitor #2. The Monitor switcher you refered to sounds like one part of a KVM switch which is designed to swap monitor & key board from PC #1,#2.#3 or swap PC vga to monitor #1,#2,#3.
    since what you are really wanting is to have 3 instances of video rather choice of 1 of 3, this indicates you really need a second video card which can allow LCD as #1, Vga as #2 and secondary Video as #3. Your laptop sadly does not have this capability.
    When your up to your a** in Alligators it's pretty hard to remember you intended to drain the swamp (author unknown)

  4. #4
    Yarnie NNTP User

    Default Re: Adding a third monitor

    hmm...I have a friend who goes to tech school, he said that it worked for them...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,078

    Default Re: Adding a third monitor

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2009 04:46:01 +0000, Yarnie wrote:

    > hmm...I have a friend who goes to tech school, he said that it worked
    > for them...


    Then you may want to ask him how he managed it, because a splitter takes
    one signal and sends it to two outputs - but what you're asking to do is
    generate two different signals on a single output. Unless the laptop has
    specific circuitry in it to accomplish this, what your friend is
    describing seems to be impossible to me - and I'd be interested in
    knowing how he accomplished this.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Rockyford Alberta Canada
    Posts
    1,362

    Default Re: Adding a third monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Tue, 10 Nov 2009 04:46:01 +0000, Yarnie wrote:

    > hmm...I have a friend who goes to tech school, he said that it worked
    > for them...


    Then you may want to ask him how he managed it, because a splitter takes
    one signal and sends it to two outputs - but what you're asking to do is
    generate two different signals on a single output. Unless the laptop has
    specific circuitry in it to accomplish this, what your friend is
    describing seems to be impossible to me - and I'd be interested in
    knowing how he accomplished this.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator
    You are quite right Jim. A Laptop can run 2 monitors if it's specific brands of toshiba or acer, maybe even a few dells with the right video system. Desktop's are another story. I suspect his friend was doing it on a desktop with multiple video cards.

    There are some USB video capture/transfer devices which can be used to run TV's and Monitors and you will find these in call center emergency response centers. These type of operations need the ability to have 3, 4, 5, 6 different displays all from one computer and that one way they do it.
    When your up to your a** in Alligators it's pretty hard to remember you intended to drain the swamp (author unknown)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,078

    Default Re: Adding a third monitor

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2009 07:46:01 +0000, techwiz03 wrote:

    > You are quite right Jim. A Laptop can run 2 monitors if it's specific
    > brands of toshiba or acer, maybe even a few dells with the right video
    > system. Desktop's are another story. I suspect his friend was doing it
    > on a desktop with multiple video cards.


    That's kinda what I was thinking. Either that or some setup like I'm
    using (three displays - one of them a laptop display - but with three
    separate machines connected using Synergy+ to share the keyboard and
    mouse).

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •