Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: PAE vs Default?....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    263

    Question PAE vs Default?....

    What is the advantage of using the PAE configuration than the default and How can I change or edit the boot menu that gives me the options?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    Physical Address Extension - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    you can install it in parallel to default and it should add an entry automatically to your boot menu

  3. #3

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    It is not the configuation that changes but the kernel. The PAE allows to have more than 4GB of memory and additionally activates the NX (No Execute bit) in CPUs that support this, otherwise there is no difference. So it is a bit better to have the PAE kernel for just this NX bit because if you have more than 4 GB of memory then i recommend using 64 bit system (anyway i recommend it always even if you don't have that much memory as most of the CPU's support it and are more efficient thanks to additional registers used).
    How does a linux geek make love??

    - rtfm; unzip; strip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; umount; zip; sleep;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    Thanks for the replies and clearing that up for me!

    I have it installed now and I would like to change the boot menu to look a bit nicer. Either where is the config file or is there a module I can use?

  5. #5

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    You can do it in YaST somewhere or other.

    My personal preference is to directly edit (as root) /boot/grub/menu.lst, and you should back it up first.

    There are blocks of information relating to each menu choice - each will begin 'title'. They appear in the order they are in the file. Notice the 'default' setting near the top, which you may wish to adjust, counts from 0.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    I also prefer to manually edit menu.lst. DO keep a separate copy after editing of menu.lst, somewhere safe. When kernel updates are applied, menu.lst is automatically updated to reflect that, and sometimes mistakes occur or boot parameters get dropped.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    Ok thanks! I appreciate your help!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    Confuseling wrote:

    >
    > You can do it in YaST somewhere or other.
    >


    If you would like to do it with yast it's in Yast-->System-->Boot Loader

    --
    kev.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    Could you go in to a bit more detail please. My system grub menu defaults to PAE,but I have only 2Gb memory. Is there any advantage to making the plain vanilla kernel the default, or should I just leave alone?

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  10. #10

    Default Re: PAE vs Default?....

    That is fine,leave it as it is, changing to default won't bring you any differences, additionally with the PAE kernel you are safer (NoExecute bit).
    How does a linux geek make love??

    - rtfm; unzip; strip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; umount; zip; sleep;

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •