Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: No TV in Kaffeine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default No TV in Kaffeine

    I just followed this guide:
    Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide - openSUSE Forums

    I did everything exactly like that with one exception - I did not install libquicktime0.

    Also I did not install the optional gecko-mediaplayer due to this note:
    (Currently in 11.2 RC2 when gecko-mediaplayer is installed a bug crashes Firefox. If this happens, just remove gecko-mediaplayer)
    Kaffeine is still telling me it cannot play TV. I get either the missing plugin error or just an error that says nothing but "error".

    I also noticed after installing the new packages that the nvidia splash screen is garbled, which it was not before. However, there are no problems that I can see after the splash screen goes away.

    EDIT: my programming is coming from Comcast cable. And I'm not sure which source to select for "Device 1". Choices are things like us-ATSC-center-frequencies-8VSB, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    Here is some info I have been gathering while I'm waiting on some help.
    Code:
    # zypper lr > zypper.txt && curl -F file=@zypper.txt nopaste.com/a
    curl: (7) couldn't connect to host
    # rpm -qa | grep layer
    flash-player-10.0.32.18-3.1.1.i586
    pullin-flash-player-11.2-1.5.x86_64
    # rpm -q kaffeine
    kaffeine-0.9+1.0pre2-2.2.x86_64
    # rpm -q libffmpeg0
    libffmpeg0-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2.x86_64
    # rpm -q totem
    package totem is not installed
    # rpm -qa | grep codec
    w32codec-all-20071007-0.pm.1.1.i586
    opensuse-codecs-installer-10.3.1-70.5.noarch
    libavcodec52-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2.x86_64
    libxine1-codecs-1.1.16.3-2.pm.6.3.x86_64
    # rpm -qa | grep xvid
    xvidcore-1.2.2-1.pm.1.1.x86_64
    libxvidcore4-1.2.2-1.pm.1.1.x86_64
    # su -c 'sax2 -p'
    Chip: 0  is -> NVidia Quadro FX 570M            01:00:0 0x10de 0x040c AGP nv
    #
    Code:
    # zypper lr
    # | Alias                               | Name                        | Enabled | Refresh
    --+-------------------------------------+-----------------------------+---------+--------
    1 | Packman                             | Packman                     | Yes     | Yes
    2 | Videolan_VLC                        | Videolan VLC                | No      | No
    3 | http-download.opensuse.org-bd864a79 | Updates for openSUSE 11.2-0 | Yes     | Yes
    4 | openSUSE 11.2-0                     | openSUSE 11.2-0             | Yes     | No
    5 | repo-debug                          | openSUSE-11.2-Debug         | No      | Yes
    6 | repo-non-oss                        | openSUSE-11.2-Non-Oss       | Yes     | Yes
    7 | repo-oss                            | openSUSE-11.2-Oss           | Yes     | Yes
    8 | repo-source                         | openSUSE-11.2-Source        | No      | Yes
    #
    I have sound and I can play common video files, but I cannot get TV to work. My tuner is a Hauppauge HRV 850. (I had it working on this computer under Kubuntu Karmic.)

    I'm running 64bit openSUSE KDE 11.2 RC. Should I remove w32codec-al? I installed it because it is listed in the guide (link in first post).
    Last edited by MountainX; 04-Nov-2009 at 18:48. Reason: zypper lr output added

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    Hoping this helps too:

    Code:
    # modprobe -l | grep tv
    kernel/drivers/video/backlight/ltv350qv.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/tvaudio.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/tvp5150.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/tveeprom.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/bt8xx/bttv.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/stv680.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/gspca/gspca_tv8532.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/gspca/stv06xx/gspca_stv06xx.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/ivtv/ivtv.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/video/ivtv/ivtvfb.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/frontends/stv0299.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/frontends/stv0297.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/frontends/stv0288.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/frontends/stv6110.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/frontends/stv0900.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/dvb-usb/dvb-usb-digitv.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/dvb-usb/dvb-usb-dtv5100.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/siano/smsmdtv.ko
    kernel/drivers/media/dvb/firewire/firedtv.ko
    
    
    [ 8954.040322] usb 2-2: USB disconnect, address 2
    [ 8954.041481] au8522 1-0047: destroying instance
    [ 8954.041582] xc5000 1-0061: destroying instance
    [ 8962.337076] usb 2-2: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
    [ 8962.474587] usb 2-2: New USB device found, idVendor=2040, idProduct=7240
    [ 8962.474606] usb 2-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=10
    [ 8962.474621] usb 2-2: Product: WinTV HVR-850
    [ 8962.474630] usb 2-2: Manufacturer: Hauppauge
    [ 8962.474640] usb 2-2: SerialNumber: xxxxxxxxx
    [ 8962.474890] usb 2-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    [ 8962.828201] au0828: i2c bus registered
    [ 8963.098250] tveeprom 1-0050: Hauppauge model 72301, rev B3F0, serial# xxxxxxxxx
    [ 8963.098258] tveeprom 1-0050: MAC address is 00-00-00-00-00
    [ 8963.098264] tveeprom 1-0050: tuner model is Xceive XC5000 (idx 150, type 76)
    [ 8963.098270] tveeprom 1-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0x88)
    [ 8963.098276] tveeprom 1-0050: audio processor is AU8522 (idx 44)
    [ 8963.098281] tveeprom 1-0050: decoder processor is AU8522 (idx 42)
    [ 8963.098286] tveeprom 1-0050: has no radio, has IR receiver, has no IR transmitter
    [ 8963.098292] hauppauge_eeprom: hauppauge eeprom: model=72301
    [ 8963.128398] au8522 1-0047: creating new instance
    [ 8963.128404] au8522_decoder creating new instance...
    [ 8963.146541] tuner 1-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (au0828)
    [ 8963.146799] xc5000 1-0061: creating new instance
    [ 8963.151717] xc5000: Successfully identified at address 0x61
    [ 8963.151732] xc5000: Firmware has not been loaded previously
    [ 8963.153394] au8522 1-0047: attaching existing instance
    [ 8963.161319] xc5000 1-0061: attaching existing instance
    [ 8963.166973] xc5000: Successfully identified at address 0x61
    [ 8963.166979] xc5000: Firmware has not been loaded previously
    [ 8963.166984] DVB: registering new adapter (au0828)
    [ 8963.166990] DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (Auvitek AU8522 QAM/8VSB Frontend)...
    [ 8963.170224] Registered device AU0828 [Hauppauge HVR850]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,498
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    Quote Originally Posted by MountainX
    What I've been reading:

    'Set up Hauppauge WinTV-PVR USB2 - openSUSE'
    (http://en.opensuse.org/Set_up_Hauppauge_WinTV-PVR_USB2)
    'Hauppauge HVR-1110 TV-DVB card - openSUSE'
    (http://en.opensuse.org/Hauppauge_HVR-1110_TV-DVB_card)
    'Linux.com :: Watch TV on your Linux computer'
    (http://www.linux.com/archive/articles/34790)
    'Watching TV on Linux - Ubuntu Forums'
    (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=97537)
    'Watch TV in Ubuntu - Linux/BSD'
    (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum...fm/607235.html)
    'iTWire - Watch TV with Linux'
    (http://www.itwire.com/content/view/21012/1141/)
    'watching tv in linux - Linux Forums' (http://tinyurl.com/ydk82nh)

    No solution yet...

    Other info:
    http://tinyurl.com/y93n4ue
    Have you tried a manual scan to see if the device is working (and it's
    using the au modules not tv )?

    Code:
    scan /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
    You need to have the dvb tools installed as well. If it's scanning ok,
    then the issue is probably with kaffine and you need to raise a bug.

    On a side note you should post in the pre-release forum

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.37-0.1-default
    up 2 days 0:23, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.03, 0.00
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.18


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Have you tried a manual scan to see if the device is working (and it's
    using the au modules not tv )?

    Code:
    scan /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
    You need to have the dvb tools installed as well. If it's scanning ok,
    then the issue is probably with kaffine and you need to raise a bug.

    On a side note you should post in the pre-release forum
    Sorry for posting in the wrong place.

    Here's a bunch of info. Basically, I think it is scanning now.

    Code:
    # scan /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
    If 'scan' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
        cnf scan
    # cnf scan
    
    The program 'scan' can be found in following packages:
      * dvb [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (repo-oss) ]
      * nmh [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (repo-oss) ]
      * dvb [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (openSUSE 11.2-0) ]
    
    Try installing with:
        zypper install <selected_package>
    
    # zypper in dvb
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    The following NEW package is going to be installed:
      dvb
    
    1 new package to install.
    Overall download size: 353.0 KiB. After the operation, additional 1.1 MiB will
    be used.
    Continue? [y/n/?] (y): y
    Retrieving package dvb-1.1.0_CVS20080331-38.13.x86_64 (1/1), 353.0 KiB (1.1 MiB unpacked)
    Installing: dvb-1.1.0_CVS20080331-38.13 [done]
    Additional rpm output:
    Updating etc/sysconfig/dvb...
    # scan /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
    If 'scan' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
        cnf scan
    # cnf scan
    
    The program 'scan' can be found in following packages:
      * dvb [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (repo-oss) ]
      * nmh [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (repo-oss) ]
      * dvb [ path: /usr/bin/scan, repository: zypp (openSUSE 11.2-0) ]
    
    Try installing with:
        zypper install <selected_package>
    
    # zypper in dvb
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    The following NEW package is going to be installed:
      dvb
    
    1 new package to install.
    Overall download size: 353.0 KiB. After the operation, additional 1.1 MiB will
    be used.
    Continue? [y/n/?] (y): y
    Retrieving package dvb-1.1.0_CVS20080331-38.13.x86_64 (1/1), 353.0 KiB (1.1 MiB unpacked)
    Installing: dvb-1.1.0_CVS20080331-38.13 [done]
    Additional rpm output:
    Updating etc/sysconfig/dvb...
    
    # scan /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB                                                                        
    scanning /usr/share/dvb/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB                    
    using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'              
    >>> tune to: 57000000:8VSB                                                      
    WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!                                                   
    [snip]                                                   
    WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!                                                   
    >>> tune to: 207000000:8VSB (tuning failed)                                     
    WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!                                                   
    >>> tune to: 213000000:8VSB                                                     
    service is running. Channel number: 12:1. Name: 'WTLV-DT'                       
    service is running. Channel number: 12:2. Name: 'WTLV 2'
    What can I try next (before posting a bug report, because I'm not even sure this is a bug. I'm new to TV in Linux.)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    Before installing dvb, I installed xawtv. Just putting it here so all the info is available. xawtv didn't work for me.

    Code:
    # zypper in xawtv
    Loading repository data...                     
    Reading installed packages...                  
    Resolving package dependencies...              
    
    The following NEW packages are going to be installed:
      pia tv-fonts xawtv                                 
    
    3 new packages to install.
    Overall download size: 483.0 KiB. After the operation, additional 919.0 KiB 
    will be used.                                                               
    Continue? [y/n/?] (y): y                                                    
    Retrieving package pia-3.95-210.2.x86_64 (1/3), 70.0 KiB (173.0 KiB unpacked)
    Installing: pia-3.95-210.2 [done]     
    Retrieving package tv-fonts-1.1-424.8.noarch (2/3), 236.0 KiB (278.0 KiB unpacked)                                                                              
    Installing: tv-fonts-1.1-424.8 [done]                                           
    Additional rpm output:                                                          
    Starting SuSEconfig, the SuSE Configuration Tool...                             
    Running module fonts only                                                       
    Reading /etc/sysconfig and updating the system...                               
    Executing /sbin/conf.d/SuSEconfig.fonts...                                      
    Creating fonts.{scale,dir} files .........                                      
    /etc/fonts/suse-font-dirs.conf unchanged                                        
    /etc/fonts/suse-hinting.conf unchanged                                          
    /etc/fonts/suse-bitmaps.conf unchanged                                          
    Creating cache files for fontconfig ............................                
    Creating 32bit cache files for fontconfig ............................          
    generating java font setup                                                      
    Warning: cannot find a font... [snip]
    Finished.
    
    
    Retrieving package xawtv-3.95-210.2.x86_64 (3/3), 177.0 KiB (468.0 KiB unpacked)
    Installing: xawtv-3.95-210.2 [done]
    # scantv
    
    please select your TV norm
       0: NTSC-M
    nr ? 0
    
    please select a frequency table
       0: us-bcast
       1: us-cable
       2: us-cable-hrc
       3: [snip]
    nr ? 0
    [global]
    freqtab = us-bcast
    
    [defaults]
    input = Television
    norm = NTSC-M
    
    vbi: open failed [/dev/vbi]
    open /dev/vbi: No such file or directory
    Computers 'n Stuff: PCTV analog USB2: "open /dev/vbi: Device or resource busy issue" solved
    is probably a bug?
    https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ub...il/032766.html
    Do a scantv -a -c /dev/video0 (or wherever your tv tuner is placed)
    xawtv doesn't start. [Archive] - Ubuntu Forums

    running xawtv - it opens but hangs. Won't accept any input and it won't close.

    Code:
    # scantv -C /dev/video0
    
    please select your TV norm
       0: NTSC-M
    nr ? 0
    
    please select a frequency table
       0: us-bcast
       1: us-cable
       2: us-cable-hrc
       3: japan-bcast
       4: japan-cable
       5: europe-west
       6: europe-east
       7: italy
       8: newzealand
       9: australia
      10: ireland
      11: france
      12: china-bcast
      13: southafrica
      14: argentina
      15: australia-optus
      16: russia
    nr ? 0
    [global]
    freqtab = us-bcast
    
    [defaults]
    input = Television
    norm = NTSC-M
    
    vbi: open failed [/dev/video0]
    open /dev/video0: Invalid argument

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    I tried kaffeine again and after installing dvb, it will scan the channels.

    But I still get this error (same as before) in Kaffeine:
    cannot find demultiplexer plugin for the given media data

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,725
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    First. Let me say.
    And I'm assuming you are using RC2, but that is TBC, as this thread is not in Beta area.

    This is a development release and even at release there still may be some packages not available from Packman. Which is the case currently.

    As I said in another post you are in - you should have removed libquicktime and let the vendor switch to libquicktime0 from Packman.

    You could try using the Packman Factory ( I am)
    Index of /pub/linux/misc/packman/suse/factory
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: No TV in Kaffeine

    I found this bug report:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ne/+bug/467887

    So I tried this as a long shot:
    Code:
    # zypper in ffmpeg
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    The following NEW package is going to be installed:
      ffmpeg
    
    1 new package to install.
    Overall download size: 236.0 KiB. After the operation, additional 974.0 KiB
    will be used.
    Continue? [y/n/?] (y):
    Retrieving package ffmpeg-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2.x86_64 (1/1), 236.0 KiB (974.0 KiB unpacked)
    Retrieving: ffmpeg-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2.x86_64.rpm [done (113.8 KiB/s)]
    Installing: ffmpeg-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2 [done]
    Additional rpm output:
    warning: /var/cache/zypp/packages/Packman/x86_64/ffmpeg-0.5.20358svn-1.pm.4.2.x86_64.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 9a795806
    It worked!

    Now I'm watching broadcast TV.
    Thinking about trying Comcast cable next... not sure what problems I'll run into with Comcast...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •