Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: I think its pulseaudio...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default I think its pulseaudio...

    Hi,
    So I got this problem that is in RC2, my webcam works, video is good but it has an integrated mic witch has some glitch.
    The cam should work like THIS and it nealy does.
    What hapens is when a call is made with skype you have to turn on video in order for sound to work (that was the case and I can live with it) but wirks for 1 second and then stops.
    I have 2 audio imputs 1 creative card and a usb audio device so i tried to configure it in almoast every way.
    I think it falls back after one second to the creative imput corce, BUT WHY?
    Can I install a previous version of pulse audio or do anyone has a better suggestion.

    Thx
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

  2. #2

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    SLK021 wrote:

    >
    > Hi,
    > So I got this problem that is in RC2, my webcam works, video is good
    > but it has an integrated mic witch has some glitch.


    > Can I install a previous version of pulse audio or do anyone has a
    > better suggestion.
    >


    KDE or Gnome? If the former, it's likely that pulseaudio isn't installed
    which, as far as I'm concerned, saves me the bother of removing it.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    "I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Its KDE and it doesnt work without pulseaudio because skype now runs exclusively over it. It worked in 11.1 with the same config so I recon its in some version of some app. The thing that bothers me is that mic works for 1 second
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Quote Originally Posted by SLK021 View Post
    Its KDE and it doesnt work without pulseaudio because skype now runs exclusively over it. It worked in 11.1 with the same config so I recon its in some version of some app. The thing that bothers me is that mic works for 1 second
    The mic in my Phillips USB webcam has never worked under Linux (which is no bother as I have never wanted to use it). So I'm afraid I can not be of help here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    I was hoping for a reply from you oldcpu but since this has been a strugle for more than a year and it ony works in 11.1 its not the end of the world.

    Ill try to fiddle with it and post my progress
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

  6. #6

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Had a similar problem and couldn't get the sound to work on my webcam/mic, so i trashed the .Skype folder and that did the trick.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Quote Originally Posted by sunscape View Post
    Had a similar problem and couldn't get the sound to work on my webcam/mic, so i trashed the .Skype folder and that did the trick.
    No use, still the same problem
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

  8. #8

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    To get mine working i installed all the packages listed here: Skype HOWTO - openSUSE, and changed the default sound input to my webcam in "sound preferences" from the tray icon.

    Does your webcam mic work without skype?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Quote Originally Posted by sunscape View Post
    To get mine working i installed all the packages listed here: Skype HOWTO - openSUSE, and changed the default sound input to my webcam in "sound preferences" from the tray icon.

    Does your webcam mic work without skype?
    No it does not work without. I get a half a second of sound plus i have to turn on video to get the mic working (this has been the case in 11.1 where it was working well)
    I installed all the packages and run skype with LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so

    in 11.1 i had to load skype with ld_preload answer the call then skype falls apart, then start it again make the call and start video witch then turns on the mic.

    The volume meter in pulseaudio shows level and freazes, tried pulseaudio from packman 0.9.10 and without pulse and it doesnt work. Cant find rpms pulse 0.9.15.
    Or maybe its the kernel...

    its a mess
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Srbija
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: I think its pulseaudio...

    Ok , heres my progress:
    I have menaged to input amaroks stream to skype rekording module on pulseaudio volume control and Sound test plays it back so my guess is that its not pulse to blame.
    Driver is I guess now.
    Before 11.2 the video was green because IC wasnt implemented in the driver now the video has normal colours ( backlight compensation is slow as death but after a minute it gets there)
    Any driver ideas are welcome now

    P.S. Im getting so tired by this
    VERBA VOLANT, SCRIPTA MANENT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •