Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Scan device

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Scan device

    Dear All,
    Since the last time Ihave got to re install my suse, I can't use my scanner device anymore.
    The installed scanner has been deleted. When I try to run the rpm file from manufacturer, the process is interrupted, " file is already installed"
    How can I remove it to able a fresh install ?
    Many thanks in advance
    Jerome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: Scan device

    rpm -e package-name

    will uninstall it. This is what you're asking for, yes? Since it tells you it's already installed. If the above doesn't work, force installing it with the --force option

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Scan device

    Hello again,
    Yes the rpm -e worked out.
    I installed again but i still cant scan anything.I use kooka as I dont know other specific tool for gnome.
    I get a message "SANE is not available on your system". But it is !
    Cant us xsane either, get the message that the periferic cant be opened.
    But if I run in cli:
    linux-1eg7:/home/tringaf/Downloads # scanimage -L
    I get
    device `brother2:bus2;dev1' is a Brother MFC-260C USB scanner
    So the scanner is recognised, no?
    Thank You
    Jerome

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Scan device

    Dear All,
    Any help on this topic.
    My suse is still not able to scan anything. I have to reboot my winxp everytime I want to use my device.
    Thank you in advance
    Jerome

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scan device

    But if I run in cli:
    linux-1eg7:/home/tringaf/Downloads # scanimage -L
    I get
    device `brother2:bus2;dev1' is a Brother MFC-260C USB scanner
    So the scanner is recognised, no?
    Yes, that is a good sign. You could also try this Brother-specific command:

    brscan-skey -l
    If all is good, try to perform a test scan like this:

    scanimage -d brother2:bus2;dev1 -v > ~/test.png
    Have you tried launching kooka from a terminal?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Scan device

    Hello Deano,
    This is what I get:
    tringaf@linux-1eg7:~> brscan-skey -l

    MFC-260C : brother2:bus2;dev1 : USB Not registered
    tringaf@linux-1eg7:~> scanimage -d brother2:bus2;dev1 -v > ~/test.png
    scanimage: open of device brother2:bus2 failed: Invalid argument
    bash: dev1: command not found
    tringaf@linux-1eg7:~>

    Something wrong with the second command or did I understand it wrong ?
    Yes I tried with kooka, as I wrote.
    I get message that kooka cant recognise the device because sane is missing or not configured. In fact sane is installed but cant run it, get error message that I/O device cant be access.
    ?
    Thank you
    Jerome

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Scan device

    Hello Deano,
    I tried now to install the last version of sane backend and xsane from their websites.
    If I run now xsane, there is no error message bit no device seen.
    If I run kooka now, no device seen either, the proper window doesn't even appears.
    Thank you
    Jerome

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: Scan device

    I had this exact problem yesterday with my HP.

    You need to go into Administrator Settings (Yast) and setup the scanner from in there, that selects the scan source for kooka.

    You should see the scanner listed.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Scan device

    Hello,
    Scan is already recognized in yast.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scan device

    This could be a permissions issue. (I've never had a problem with Brother MFC hardware). Try running kooka as root like this

    kdesu kooka
    Does it work then?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •