Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    I have installed Suse 11.1 on a Multimedia computer with XP dual booting via MBR

    I no longer require the media centre.

    OS: Linux 2.6.27.29-0.1-default x86_64
    Current user: brian@linux-z3dx
    System: openSUSE 11.1 (x86_64)
    KDE: 3.5.10 "release 21.11"

    I have installed Suse 11.1 but have now taken out the Terratec Aureon Space 7.1 sound card.

    I now only have the on board sound card which is fine.

    Using YAST the hardware found is 82801G(ICH7) family high def audio controller, configured as sound card 0, driver snd-hda-intel.

    Amarok works fine, and XMMS to play a mp3 file.

    Kaffeine says no plugin found to handle mp3.

    Usuing the control panel and sound
    I am told unable to start the sound server to retrieve panel sound I/O methods. Only automatic detection available.

    The BBC iplayer in Firefox has sound.

    There is also no sound in Kontact

    Any ideas please?

    I feel I have the sound card wrongly configured and thought alsa would be involved?

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    I now only have the on board sound card which is fine.

    Using YAST the hardware found is 82801G(ICH7) family high def audio controller, configured as sound card 0, driver snd-hda-intel.

    Amarok works fine, and XMMS to play a mp3 file.
    Ok, sound works.

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    Kaffeine says no plugin found to handle mp3.
    OK, Kaffeine does not play mp3. Do you have the packman packaged version of kaffeine or the Novell/SuSE-GmbH packaged version of Kaffeine? And what sound engine do you have selected in Kaffeine? Note with Kaffeine and the appropriate plugin, one can select either gstreamer or xine sound engine. Which do you have selected? Which ever one you have selected (gstreamer or xine), do you have the packman packaged gstreamer and packman packaged libxine1 installed? If not, you need it.

    mp3 is a proprietary format, and openSUSE as packaged does not support propietary formats. Other applications (typically from packman) need to be added to replace the Novell/SuSE-GmbH packaged versions to provide the capability to play proprietary formats.

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    Usuing the control panel and sound
    I am told unable to start the sound server to retrieve panel sound I/O methods. Only automatic detection available.
    I have no idea what you are refering to there.

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    The BBC iplayer in Firefox has sound.
    Thats good to read!


    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    There is also no sound in Kontact
    I can't help there. I do not use Kontact (which I believe is KDE's PIM).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Thumbs up Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Ok, sound works.

    OK, Kaffeine does not play mp3. Do you have the packman packaged version of kaffeine or the Novell/SuSE-GmbH packaged version of Kaffeine? And what sound engine do you have selected in Kaffeine? Note with Kaffeine and the appropriate plugin, one can select either gstreamer or xine sound engine. Which do you have selected? Which ever one you have selected (gstreamer or xine), do you have the packman packaged gstreamer and packman packaged libxine1 installed? If not, you need it.

    mp3 is a proprietary format, and openSUSE as packaged does not support propietary formats. Other applications (typically from packman) need to be added to replace the Novell/SuSE-GmbH packaged versions to provide the capability to play proprietary formats.

    I have no idea what you are refering to there.

    Thats good to read!


    I can't help there. I do not use Kontact (which I believe is KDE's PIM).
    Hi

    Mostly sorted by loading 'packman packaged libxine1 installed' as suggested.

    Only the notifications in Kontact now.

    Thanks for your help.
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  4. #4
    upscope NNTP User

    Default Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    signetone wrote:

    >
    > oldcpu;2053251 Wrote:



    > Mostly sorted by loading 'packman packaged libxine1 installed' as
    > suggested.
    >
    > Only the notifications in Kontact now.

    Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see if one
    of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.

    >
    > Thanks for your help.
    >
    >


    --
    Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release 169,
    Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB Disc
    (2)]


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by upscope View Post
    signetone wrote:

    >
    > oldcpu;2053251 Wrote:



    > Mostly sorted by loading 'packman packaged libxine1 installed' as
    > suggested.
    >
    > Only the notifications in Kontact now.

    Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see if one
    of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.

    >
    > Thanks for your help.
    >
    >


    --
    Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release 169,
    Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB Disc
    (2)]
    Do you mean on the KDE3.5 desktop?

    'Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see if one of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.'

    by right hand clicking the mouse? All the settings seem to be about the look of the desktop and settings - nothing about notifications?

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  6. #6
    upscope NNTP User

    Default Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    signetone wrote:

    >
    > upscope;2053377 Wrote:
    >> signetone wrote:
    >>
    >> >
    >> > oldcpu;2053251 Wrote:

    >>
    >>
    >> > Mostly sorted by loading 'packman packaged libxine1 installed' as
    >> > suggested.
    >> >
    >> > Only the notifications in Kontact now.

    >> Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see
    >> if one
    >> of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.
    >>
    >> >
    >> > Thanks for your help.
    >> >
    >> >

    >>
    >> --
    >> Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release
    >> 169,
    >> Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB
    >> Disc
    >> (2)]

    >
    > Do you mean on the KDE3.5 desktop?
    >
    > 'Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see
    > if one of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.'
    >
    > by right hand clicking the mouse? All the settings seem to be about the
    > look of the desktop and settings - nothing about notifications?
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    >

    Sorry was talking about KDE 4. I just wiped out my 3.5 installation several
    days ago. If I remember right it is under system settings--> Sound &
    Multimedia--> Notification.
    --
    Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release 169,
    Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB Disc
    (2)]


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by upscope View Post
    signetone wrote:

    >
    > upscope;2053377 Wrote:
    >> signetone wrote:
    >>
    >> >
    >> > oldcpu;2053251 Wrote:

    >>
    >>
    >> > Mostly sorted by loading 'packman packaged libxine1 installed' as
    >> > suggested.
    >> >
    >> > Only the notifications in Kontact now.

    >> Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see
    >> if one
    >> of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.
    >>
    >> >
    >> > Thanks for your help.
    >> >
    >> >

    >>
    >> --
    >> Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release
    >> 169,
    >> Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB
    >> Disc
    >> (2)]

    >
    > Do you mean on the KDE3.5 desktop?
    >
    > 'Check in Configure Desktop --> Notifications --> Event Source and see
    > if one of the options there controls the Kontact sounds.'
    >
    > by right hand clicking the mouse? All the settings seem to be about the
    > look of the desktop and settings - nothing about notifications?
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    >

    Sorry was talking about KDE 4. I just wiped out my 3.5 installation several
    days ago. If I remember right it is under system settings--> Sound &
    Multimedia--> Notification.
    --
    Russ [openSUSE 11.1 (2.6.27.29-0.1-default [x86_64]) KDE 4.3.1 release 169,
    Intel DX48BT2 Core 2 Dual E7200. 4 GB DDR III GeForce 8400 GS, 320GB Disc
    (2)]
    Hi
    Thanks for the reply.

    I found the system settings --> Sound & Multimedia --> Notification under the control centre.

    Yes the test sound plays fine?
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Thumbs up Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Sorted.

    I looked though the files in the repositories and found via a search of KDE3 files that KMix had not been downloaded. When it was downloaded and run the volume on the KDE sounds was at zero.
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    I looked though the files in the repositories and found via a search of KDE3 files that KMix had not been downloaded. When it was downloaded and run the volume on the KDE sounds was at zero.
    In KDE3 kmix comes with kdemultimedia3-mixer. Strange it was not installed on a KDE desktop by default.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Thumbs up Re: Sound card problems 82101G(ICH7)

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    In KDE3 kmix comes with kdemultimedia3-mixer. Strange it was not installed on a KDE desktop by default.
    Yes but by mistake I loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4 and then asked on another thread how to change to KDE3 so that may be it?

    Anyhow sorted
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •