Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    When I select online update in Yast, a dialog pops up telling me:

    No Update Repository Configured Yet. Run configuration workflow now?
    I cannot figure out how to set this up. If I click "Yes" then "Finish", I get a mostly blank YaST2 window with cancel and accept buttons. But the windows are all empty, so there is nothing to accept. And the next time I run online update, it again tells me "No Update Repository Configured Yet."

    Very confusing.

    And the advanced, register scenario is even worse. The Novell website comes up with a "continue" button that doesn't do anything...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Very confusing.
    Yes, it can be when you're dealing with versions still in development.

    If you have:

    http-download.opensuse.org-ce86885e Index of /update/11.2

    in your list of repos, then you have the update repo. With Milestones and release candidates, the update repo doesn't really do anythng until the final release.

    You can get updates from the factory repos and from 11.2-oss and 11.2 non-oss.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    If you have:

    http-download.opensuse.org-ce86885e Index of /update/11.2

    in your list of repos, then you have the update repo. With Milestones and release candidates, the update repo doesn't really do anythng until the final release.

    You can get updates from the factory repos and from 11.2-oss and 11.2 non-oss.
    I do not have the exact repo you listed. I have one with these values:
    name: http-download.opensuse.org-7296d48b
    url: http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.2/

    Most things seem to work better on openSUSE than on Ubuntu, but this is one exception I have seen so far. This process works consistently and fairly clearly on Ubuntu from alpha to beta to release. (The only catch is that when partial updates are offered, accepting them can be problematic...) On openSUSE I do not yet understand it even after reading the help. I guess it will take some trial and error, which is what I'm doing now

    Why is YaST showing no updates available for me when I'm running 11.2 milestone 8 and RC1 is out?

  4. #4

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    This command should get you updated.

    sudo zypper dup

    I am new to OpenSuse's package management myself but I had success using the above command. I think technically the system update tool is not really meant to do anything until the final release because you are testing a development build and supplying bug reports on that particular snapshot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Quote Originally Posted by exploder_91 View Post
    This command should get you updated.

    sudo zypper dup

    I am new to OpenSuse's package management myself but I had success using the above command. I think technically the system update tool is not really meant to do anything until the final release because you are testing a development build and supplying bug reports on that particular snapshot.
    Thank you.

    Now, I have a couple more questions. When I open YaST control center, I see both "Online Update" and "Software Management". What is the difference?

    Both open a YaST2 application that looks exactly the same. Most of the menu choices are the same. But "Online Update" is empty, while "Software Management" Installation Summary suggests 4 packages I can upgrade.

    question 1: why are there two identical looking tools that seem to duplicate functionality, yet simultaneously offer different results?

    question 2: why would "Software Management" offer me 32 bit packages when I am running a 64 bit system? It offers me 32 bit flash, but I have 64 bit flash installed. I know I can block those packages, but I would like to know what exactly is going on. Is this just one of those pre-release things or is there a lesson here?

  6. #6

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    question 1: why are there two identical looking tools that seem to duplicate functionality, yet simultaneously offer different results?
    I think these are different tabs within the package management system.

    question 2: why would "Software Management" offer me 32 bit packages when I am running a 64 bit system? It offers me 32 bit flash, but I have 64 bit flash installed. I know I can block those packages, but I would like to know what exactly is going on. Is this just one of those pre-release things or is there a lesson here?
    I am not sure about this one. I am running the 32 bit version and grabbed Flash from the Adobe downloads page and installed it using OpenSuse's package manager. Flash is the only package that is not from the factory repo on my system. I have not added the packman repo yet to keep the upgrade path simple right now.

    How did you install Flash on your system? If you have added repos to the system, this might be the problem you are experiencing. Sorry I do not have a definite answer for this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Quote Originally Posted by MountainX View Post
    Thank you.

    Now, I have a couple more questions. When I open YaST control center, I see both "Online Update" and "Software Management". What is the difference?

    Both open a YaST2 application that looks exactly the same. Most of the menu choices are the same. But "Online Update" is empty, while "Software Management" Installation Summary suggests 4 packages I can upgrade.

    question 1: why are there two identical looking tools that seem to duplicate functionality, yet simultaneously offer different results?

    question 2: why would "Software Management" offer me 32 bit packages when I am running a 64 bit system? It offers me 32 bit flash, but I have 64 bit flash installed. I know I can block those packages, but I would like to know what exactly is going on. Is this just one of those pre-release things or is there a lesson here?
    Online Update opens to Patches, you can actually move it's initial view to one that will match Software Management. Try the tabs along the top.

    Flash player is still only supplied in _32bit and requires nspluginwrapper also.

    FYI: I do all my Updating and Package management via Software Management. Never use the Online Updates or the Updater Applet (That gets removed from start up)
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Online Update opens to Patches, you can actually move it's initial view to one that will match Software Management. Try the tabs along the top.
    I tried all the tabs and some other options and I could not make the two "match". I'll keep exploring. And thanks for confirming that these are indeed the identical app with different startup parameters. That removes some confusion.

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Flash player is still only supplied in _32bit and requires nspluginwrapper also.
    Adobe Flash 10 - will this work in OpenSUSE? - openSUSE Forums

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    FYI: I do all my Updating and Package management via Software Management. Never use the Online Updates or the Updater Applet (That gets removed from start up)
    OK. Good to know. It is getting more clear now.

    Thank you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A place with no mountains
    Posts
    280

    Default Re: YaST-No Update Repository Configured Yet

    I find myself in a funny situation. I installed milestone 8 with the intention to just wipe it out and install something else when I was finished testing.

    But now that I have it installed, I'm finding that I don't want to change it. I am not even feeling the need to move to RC1. This is already one of the best OS experiences I have ever enjoyed. There is nothing on my computer (afaik) that is not working exactly like I want to to work.

    That old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" has me thinking I'll just stay here for a while. And that's very unexpected from a pre-release OS.

    EDIT: actually, I'll probably keep experimenting and when I screw something up really badly, I'll just install RC1 fresh.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •