Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: My CD drive doesn't work

  1. #1
    Paramaeleon NNTP User

    Default My CD drive doesn't work

    My CD drive is attached as secondary slave but it doesn't appear anywhere, eg. no /dev/hdd or /dev/cdrom. It is not listet in hwinfo either. I completely re-installed SuSE from network today, so it's the newest version. The drive always worked fine in SuSE 9.x and also booting the Network Setup CD worked properly.

    Does someone have an idea? May there be missing packages? What do I have to check next?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    Why is it set as slave? Try switching it to master or cable select.
    Also, tell us if it is alone on the cable or if with other devices.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Paramaeleon NNTP User

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    The primary IDE cable has a hard disk as master (/boot, /, swap) and an Iomega Zip Drive as Slave. The secondary IDE has a hard disk as master (/home) and the CD as slave. All of the rest is working fine, and booting the SuSE Network Setup CD is also possible. I didn't change the way the hardware is attached since I bought the PC in 2002, I formerly had SuSE 9.x and I could even record to DVD successfully from K3B. There is no entry to the CD drive in the fstab, and I think a device file to it is missing.

    I put my hwinfo here: http://pastebin.com/m3d132062
    And here is ll -R /dev: http://pastebin.com/m7ffed32e

    (While performing those commands, a CD-ROM which I know that it has no damages was inside the drive.)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    There is never any entry for cd/dvd in /etc/fstab

    Can you boot from the CD. ie; a live cd
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Paramaeleon NNTP User

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    I can boot the OpenSuSE Network Setup CD. The boot manager and kernel is loaded from CD, anything else from the net (eth0,DHCP). During the kernel is loading, the "read" LED lights up. I don't own any other live CD.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    You didn't say if the CD was on a cable with another drive. Is it. If yes, can you try it alone?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Paramaeleon NNTP User

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by Paramaeleon View Post
    The primary IDE cable has a hard disk as master (/boot, /, swap) and an Iomega Zip Drive as Slave. The secondary IDE has a hard disk as master (/home) and the CD as slave.
    There are two components on the cable: the /home HD and the dvd-drive. If I disconnect the /home, I have to ensure that the system doesn't try booting/auto login into KDE, default user. How do I tell him? I guess i must comment out the /home mount point, too, isn't it?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by Paramaeleon View Post
    There are two components on the cable: the /home HD and the dvd-drive. If I disconnect the /home, I have to ensure that the system doesn't try booting/auto login into KDE, default user. How do I tell him? I guess i must comment out the /home mount point, too, isn't it?
    No don't do that.
    Don't you have another cable?

    I would still try changing the jumper. And the way the devices are connected on the cable matters too if I recall.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    Hi!
    seems that is something with system settings - I can open some of my CDs and some not. I reboot to 11.0 and all disks work just fine.
    So...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: My CD drive doesn't work

    Hi. small update. I can mount any cd if I do it manually e.g.
    mount /dev/sr0 /home/cdrom - it works fine so, but not automatically.
    Any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •