Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Yast2 Qt won't start.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Ab, Canada
    Posts
    18

    Default Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Hi all.
    As of a few days ago, I can't get Yast2 to start with Qt frontend. The GTK frontend works fine. I get no error message. Neither reinstalling it, nor rebooting helped.
    Yast2 version 2.17.69-0.1.1 (x86_64). OpenSUSE 11.1 64 bit.
    Has anyone had a similar problem?
    I'll appreciate any suggestions.
    Cheers.
    Victor.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,714
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    You could try updating via yast (ncurses version) from terminal. You will need to su to root first. Alternatively use zypper to complete update

    zypper up

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Ab, Canada
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    You could try updating via yast (ncurses version) from terminal. You will need to su to root first. Alternatively use zypper to complete update
    Yes, I can do that and it works, but the problem is not that I can't find an alternative to Yast2 Qt functionality, but the very fact that Yast2 Qt doesn't work...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,714
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Yes, I can do that and it works, but the problem is not that I can't find an alternative to Yast2 Qt functionality, but the very fact that Yast2 Qt doesn't work...
    The idea behind using yast or zypper from CLI is to complete any updates (with qt packages for example) that might be causing the yast-qt front-end not to function.

    Anyway, you could try launching graphical yast2 via termnial and see what errors get reported from there.

    su (to become root, enter root password when prompted)
    yast2

    It may be a good idea to give us a list of your repos from

    zypper lr -d

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Ab, Canada
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    The idea behind using yast or zypper from CLI is to complete any updates (with qt packages for example) that might be causing the yast-qt front-end not to function.

    Anyway, you could try launching graphical yast2 via termnial and see what errors get reported from there.

    su (to become root, enter root password when prompted)
    yast2
    Nothing happens. It just does nothing so I just Ctrl+C it.

    Here is a list of repositories (very long):
    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh
    ---+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+---------+--------
    1 | Education:/Salome:/Factory | Education:/Salome:/Factory | Yes | Yes
    2 | KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop | KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop | No | Yes
    3 | KDE:/KDE4:/STABLE:/Extra-Apps | KDE:/KDE4:/STABLE:/Extra-Apps | No | Yes
    4 | KDE:KDE4:Factory:Desktop | KDE:KDE4:Factory:Desktop | Yes | Yes
    5 | KDE:Qt | KDE:Qt | Yes | Yes
    6 | devel:/gcc_1 | devel:/gcc | Yes | Yes
    7 | devel:/languages:/perl_1 | devel:/languages:/perl | Yes | Yes
    8 | devel:/languages:/python_1 | devel:/languages:/python | Yes | Yes
    9 | devel:/libraries:/c_c++_1 | devel:/libraries:/c_c++ | Yes | Yes
    10 | devel:/tools:/building_1 | devel:/tools:/building | Yes | Yes
    11 | devel:/tools:/scm_1 | devel:/tools:/scm | Yes | Yes
    12 | home:/bitshuffler_1 | home:/bitshuffler | No | Yes
    13 | home:/hfiguiere | home:/hfiguiere | Yes | Yes
    14 | home:/j-engel | home:/j-engel | Yes | Yes
    15 | home:/jnweiger | home:/jnweiger | Yes | Yes
    16 | home:/jsakalos | home:/jsakalos | No | Yes
    17 | home:/kte608_1 | home:/kte608 | Yes | Yes
    18 | home:/lmich | home:/lmich | No | No
    19 | home:/pereconstans_(cb2bib)__1 | home:/pereconstans_(cb2bib)_ | Yes | Yes
    20 | home:/rguenther_1 | home:/rguenther | Yes | Yes
    21 | home:/soes_1 | home:/soes | Yes | Yes
    22 | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_11.1 | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_11.1 | No | Yes
    23 | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Playground/openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_UNSTABLE_Desktop | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Playground/openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_UNSTABLE_Desktop | No | Yes
    24 | Index of /repositories/Subversion/openSUSE_11.1 | Index of /repositories/Subversion/openSUSE_11.1 | Yes | Yes
    25 | http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...penSUSE_11.0_1 | home:/h31 | Yes | Yes
    26 | mozilla:/beta | mozilla:/beta | No | Yes
    27 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | No | No
    28 | openSUSE:/Tools_1 | openSUSE:/Tools | Yes | Yes
    29 | openSUSE_11.1 | openSUSE_11.1 | Yes | Yes
    30 | openSUSE_11.1_1 | openSUSE_11.1 | Yes | Yes
    31 | openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop | openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop | Yes | Yes
    32 | openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop_1 | openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop | Yes | Yes
    33 | repo | NVIDIA Repository | Yes | Yes
    34 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.1-Source | Yes | Yes
    35 | repo-update | openSUSE-11.1-Update | Yes | Yes
    36 | repo_1 | Main Repository (NON-OSS) | Yes | Yes
    37 | repo_10 | openSUSE BuildService - X11:Compiz | Yes | Yes
    38 | repo_11 | openSUSE BuildService - Mozilla | Yes | Yes
    39 | repo_12 | openSUSE BuildService - Database | Yes | Yes
    40 | repo_13 | openSUSE BuildService - PHP | Yes | Yes
    41 | repo_14 | VideoLan Repository | Yes | Yes
    42 | repo_15 | Packman Repository | Yes | Yes
    43 | repo_16 | openSUSE Education | Yes | Yes
    44 | repo_2 | Main Repository (OSS) | Yes | Yes
    45 | repo_3 | openSUSE BuildService - Wine CVS Builds | Yes | Yes
    46 | repo_4 | openSUSE BuildService - GNOME:Community | Yes | Yes
    47 | repo_5 | openSUSE BuildService - GNOME:STABLE | Yes | Yes
    48 | repo_6 | openSUSE BuildService - KDE:Backports | Yes | Yes
    49 | repo_7 | openSUSE BuildService - KDE:Community | Yes | Yes
    50 | repo_8 | openSUSE BuildService - OpenOffice.org | Yes | Yes
    51 | repo_9 | openSUSE BuildService - Virtualization (VirtualBox) | Yes | Yes
    52 | repositories/Education_1 | repositories/Education | Yes | Yes
    53 | repositories/network:/utilities | repositories/network:/utilities | No | Yes
    54 | repositories/science_1 | repositories/science | Yes | Yes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,714
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Your configured repositories are in a bit of a mess. I see some duplications for a start. Remove these first. Almost certainly, some of your repos will be causing conflicts. You have to be careful with KDE4 repos in particular. You have the VideoLan and Packman repos simultaneously enabled - that can also cause problems (usually media playback related).

    Have a read of this

    Repository Management - openSUSE Forums

    In general, keep your repositories to a minimum to avoid conflicts and breakage. A good choice would be those added by default at install: oss, non-oss, updates + just 'Packman' and ATI or Nvidia if you need these. That should give you all you need. The exception being if you need the libdvdcss package from the VLC repo. To acquire this, add the VLC repo – install libdvdcss and then disable this repo.
    caf4926 might be better placed to get you out of this mess.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Ab, Canada
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Your configured repositories are in a bit of a mess. I see some duplications for a start. Almost certainly, some of your repos will be causing conflicts. You have to be careful with KDE4 repos in particular. You have the VideoLan and Packman repos simultaneously enabled - that can also cause problems (usually media playback related).

    Have a read of this

    Repository Management - openSUSE Forums

    caf4926 might be better placed to get you out of this mess.
    It might look like a mess, but it isn't. I've had this setup for many months and had no problems. I am not exactly a linux/opensuse beginner so I know how to handle repositories and every single one of them is in the list for a reason. The reason being either my curiosity or need for software that's not in the default repos. If I have conflicting software, I always remove the repository causing it but this doesn't happen often.
    Anyways, which particular repositories do you think might be the likely cause of the problem? Please also note that some of them are in the list but are in fact disabled.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Just a guess. Might be a conflict between yast from suse repo, update and kde4.3 Try to use the yast from the suse repo or the suse update and take out the yast from kde 4.3. You can select those via the version section of yast software management. You don't need to disable any repo. Look for the yast2 qt and be sure it will be installed from the mentioned repository.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,714
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    See what

    zypper ve --dry-run
    throws up. (You might need to do 'zypper ref' first). That should generate a list of dependencies not satisfied if they exist.

    Maybe also have a look at

    rpm -qa |grep qt
    In particular, I would be looking at versions of yast2-qt and libqt4 packages...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Ab, Canada
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Yast2 Qt won't start.

    Quick update.
    Yast2 still doesn't start, but yast2 qt front end for software management does. I have no idea what changed. I just kept updating the system every day, but didn't see any particular packages that may have been the reason. I guess I'll just wait till 11.2 is out and then reinstall the whole thing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •